Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
734 Posts
What he said but it appears to have been been modified with an adjustable main jet.

·
Registered
734 Posts
What do you need to know? It's a Kehin butterfly carb with an accelerator pump and adjustable main jet. Standard Kehin pilots fit and the main is probably a 180. The two cable set up says 1978 and later.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks guys. I am about to rebuilt it so I just was trying to find any relevant info on it. I am new to american bikes. I am a younger guy looking for a little guidance, I suppose.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
A japanese bike. I bought it from this old guy for $160. Thats why I didn't post the bike just the carb because the carb is american. Its a 1981 Yamaha Virago 750 but I just wanted to focus on the carb itself.

·
4,048 Posts
I'd love to see that fucking manifold. The dual carb setup on those is an abortion, a single monster like that must have dictated one hell of an interesting set of runners on 'er.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
I'd love to see that fucking manifold. The dual carb setup on those is an abortion, a single monster like that must have dictated one hell of an interesting set of runners on 'er.
You are fucking right about that. I had one before this one and I HATED the carbs and thats why I bought this one, in particular. It had the 2 into 1 and I had to pick it up and for $160 for a bike that needs carb adjustment. Are you kidding.

But I found out that I need to shim the starter but I want to stay focused on the carb so this thread doesn't get deleted due to the fact that the bike isn't under that guidelines of this board.

·
Premium Member
7,101 Posts
I did a manifold conversion on one, used Gold wing intakes from a 1000cc and welded custom flanges, used better carbs, ran great.