Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
2,903 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
EDIT: This is my first attempt on doing a "TECH" so, as I go along and find topics that are important, I'll add and edit.
After searching thread after thread and not finding much help and Trent helping as much as he could, I decided to put together a thread on trouble shooting a magneto.

As Trent said, "They are pretty simple and dependable." He's right, when they work, when they don't....Well, it's head scratching time.

OK, here is the Magneto that I am using on my build, SOLO.

Ya this is a learning curve thing.
After doing a hell of a lot of research I've found out that I have a Joe Hunt Magneto on a Morris Magneto cam chest cover with a Morris Magneto bake lite cover, kinda a mix and match deal.

If you look close at the pic, on the front of the mag there are holes for screws, these hold the coil in place on the forged Hunt style mag case. Although I've never been inside a Morris, they tell me that they have internal screws that hold the coil in place.

A diagnostic tech tip page.
Tech tips

Testing Output with Magneto Installed & Timed:

Leave spark plugs in to maintain a compression stroke. Since the engine will tend to snap through once the compression is overcome, this will properly time magneto thrust cycle. NOTE: Bear in mind that testing without spark plugs installed, along with testing by hand-spinning a removed magneto, may give intermittent output results, since the magneto cycle is begun at a random point.