Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, i have 19 days til the car show my friend wants to ride my triumph to..... my harley is ready to go but who likes ridin alone??

i ordered my AMAL kits, my tympanium, and now i wanna hack out all the old wiring...

me being me i would cut EVERYTHING down to 4-5" to where it has to go, so i can start all over and redo the shit right, but is there anything i need to look out for?

im new to bikes, and ENTIRELY new to brits, only had japs or HDs before...

is there anything i SHOULDNT cut? i assume coil wires and stuff need to stay where they are, but i mean shit, this brit shit has like 45 wires!!!! and im about ready to cut em ALL away and call it a day!

·
Registered
1,152 Posts
And one last thing to help ya out when ya start wanting questions answered at 2AM and no one is online. (Been there)

Ernie Bransden, the owner and brains behind Boyer ignitions, offers the following suggestions to diagnose problems with a bike fitted with an electronic ignition…

NO SPARK CHECK:

BATTERY HAS POWER?: Switch on headlamp and activate stop lamp. They should stay bright for more than one minute.

THE FUSE KEEPS BLOWING: Replace the fuse with a 21 watt indicator bulb. As the individual electrical circuits are switched on, the bulb will glow dimly, if a faulty circuit is connected, the bulb will glow brightly. If the bulb glows brightly with nothingswitched on, remove wires from components in turn until the bulb goes out; the last one removed will be the faulty circuit.

IGNITION UNIT HAS POWER?: Using a bulb or voltmeter check the main power feed to the ignition unit. This would be the wire from the ignition or kill switch. With bulb connected between the ignition feed wire at the ignition box and battery ground, the bulb should glow brightly. If dim or varying, try moving the fuse holder, wiring, handlebars, to locate any faulty connection.