Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so as most of you know, im new to bike buildin, and my 67 ironhead is just about done, once i toss on the 21 that trent shipped today, should be good enough for me, lOL...

gettiin a 66 trump ...

last ran in 96, when amals dumped fuel outta the plungers and sparked a tiny fire (didnt damage anything it actually sparked when guy was warmin it up and melted fuel line and air cleaner and thats it WHEW!)... anyways, hasnt moved since then, decent lil bike, most chrome will clean up, compression feels good and trans goes through ok... carbs are now in pieces as he was "gonna get some mikunis but never got the cash"... screw that shit i wanna run the amals... so i need to figure how to rebuild em (ive heard re-sleeving is good),. anyone on here do this as a service for a reasonable price? i could do it, not sure if i acn buy kits for em or not, or if i HAVE to resleeve em...

anywyas, i can cover the looks and fab side easy, but the carbs are throwin me off... what should i do first!?!?!??!?

·
Registered
7,257 Posts
pretty good chance your Amals will work with a good cleaning & going thru .. the rebuild "kits" are available, & consist of just a few orings & bowl gasket & float needle ..

sleeving is expensive & not needed until the slide is so worn it clanks in the bore ..

a key thing to understand about the Amal is the mounting - there's a big o-ring at the mounting flange, and 2 special locknuts at the flange, you only tighten enough to compress the o-ring some; & correctly mounted you can wiggle the carb with your hand ..

many carbs are damaged from folks tightening the mount nuts too far, which distorts the carb body, and most often causes the slide to stick, often wide open ..

here's a real good article by Englishman demonstrating how the various passages work ..

and a whole collection of Amal tech here : http://www.ironcross.net/AMAL.htm

Good luck ..