Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone ever run a street legal triumph 650 (with just a head light, tail light and brake light) off of a capacitor alone...with no battery? the bike i want to try it on has points and a regulator/rectifier box. I ran my other triumph with a regulator/rectifier box and electronic ignition on just a capacitor, but it didn't have lights. any help would be appreciated.
thanks
jake

·
Registered
175 Posts
Jake I think you'll also need either a Mity Max or Tympanium. They store enough charge to run a headlight or taillight while running.

The problem with doing so is that the lights will get very dim at idle and stay fairly dim at low speed.

I'm no expert on the subject, but that's what I've gathered from asking around.

·
Banned
163 Posts
You are incorrect on the first and second statements, sir

Bass said:
Jake I think you'll also need either a Mity Max or Tympanium. They store enough charge to run a headlight or taillight while running.

The problem with doing so is that the lights will get very dim at idle and stay fairly dim at low speed.

I'm no expert on the subject, but that's what I've gathered from asking around.

·
Registered
175 Posts
Well sir, could you please enlighten the rest of us to what the correct combination of parts would be? I've never ran the combo of no battery and points so I was just stating what I'd gathered from other people (who apparently didn't know either.)

Maybe try to be helpful for once?

·
Registered
175 Posts
For the record, I have never talked shit about you or your work, Hackasaw.

But I can see that's not stopping you from spewing your mindless bullshit all over an otherwise helpful internet message board.

Respect is earned not given. And if you keep showing your true colors and talking shit about someone you don't know, I will promise you that its going to come back and bite you in the ass.