Jockey Journal Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Curious question.
What kind(not brand)of Oil are you guys using in your shovelheads and why?
I always from the 70's till the 90's ran straight weight aircraft oil in my shovels between 50 and 70 weight.
The guy who rebuilt my motor who has a good reputation and has been wrenching bikes at Harley dealers and his own shop now for 30+years and a avid drag racer said I should run the newer multi-viscocity stuff like 20w50, like the dealer sells for new bikes.
What about for my ratchet top trans also?
I am no oil scientist so, What do ya all think?

·
Registered
2,888 Posts
Curious question.
I always from the 70's till the 90's ran straight weight aircraft oil in my shovels between 50 and 70 weight.
The guy who rebuilt my motor who has a good reputation and has been wrenching bikes at Harley dealers and his own shop now for 30+years and a avid drag racer said I should run the newer multi-viscocity stuff like 20w50, like the dealer sells for new bikes.
I always run 60 wt in the summer and 50 wt in the winter in anything with iron cylinders.
But that's just me.

BTW, Harley still sells straight 50 and 60 wt oil. The service manual for my FXR (84-90) still recommends straight weight oil if the temp is 80 degrees or above.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Curious question.
Is your bike kick only?

I ran 60w since April and on the cold mornings in the 40's, it was a BITCH to kick.

For that reason, I'd like to try 20w50 also. From all the old school shovel dudes, they say the same.

60w in summer
50w in winter

·
Registered
2,188 Posts
Have been using 20W50 since 1985. Only difference I have seen is the rebuilds are way farther apart.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Yup.

Ever see 20/50 when it's hot, like after a ride in the summer? Watery and thin. No thanks.