Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Okay, in a nutshell; after riding cone shovel's for about 15 yrs. and finally selling the last one in 2001 to finance a '50 Ford Kustom it was time to wake up.
Last April (2010) 2 buddies of mine convinced me to get back on 2 wheels again,
one of 'm gave me a '21 Avon for my birthday and things took off from there..

In the months that followed I gathered a '47 frame, a primary case and a Ebay score GME tank, then you have this;

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Next I found an already rebuild Slick Shift gearbox in the UK and payed for it big time. Note; I have never worked on a Triumph before, let alone a pre-unit.
You learn from your mistakes and I learned later that gearbox wouldn´t fit my rigid frame !

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I was gonna get all parts one at a time since I didn´t have the funds to buy a complete bike.
A buddy of mine (Flying Dutchman, known here on the board) sold me a NOS Barnes spoolhub and I had it laced up in a 21' front wheel, next came
a Avon MKII rear tire.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
That's right Dr. Benway, also known as Bonebreaker since it's assumingly the only bird that also eats the bones from his prey (obviously).
I thought the rigid frame in combination with years of chronical back-problems summed it up nicely :(

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Then the project came to a halt, it already took me four months to get this far, I figured I wasn't gonna drive this thing within' the next decennium..

I saved up a little, worked some extra hours and along came a '56 Bonnie in the local ads, the price was right and a ton of parts came with it;

The engine suffered from a sludge trap and had stalled while doing 60MPH,
the owner didn't want it anymore, back on it's feet it looked like this;

·
Registered
1,576 Posts