Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
571 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All!

Now, I'm pretty new to the world of bikes, and I'm hoping some of the Jedis here can help school a new padawan...

I see a lot of bikes that have big, wide (3"?) primary belt drives. How come the primary has to be that beefy, when a final drive can be about an inch wide, and has to deal with all that engine's torque multiplied by the primary drive ratio X the transmission ratio?

Somehow, I'm thinkin' that if a 1" belt would suffice on the primary, a lot of guys would be running one...

And, how come guys go to belt drives anyway? What's the benefit? Quieter/smoother? I can't believe a guy w/ open pipes and a rigid frame would care how smooth and quiet his primary drive is! Is it to allow a little side-to-side change in where the trans is vs. the engine?

Also, when the primary drive gets changed to belt, then the bike would probably have to have a dry clutch... yeah, no sneaking that past this padawan... how well do the dry clutches work vs. the oil bath clutch? I'd think that the wet clutch should be able to take a lot more slipping, since there's that bath of oil to wick off heat. Don't know that it'd be good for drag racing, but I'd expect it to live longer in stop-n-go street riding. Am I thinkin' right about this?

Anyway, if anybody can answer these questions, then I'll be able to sleep at night! Or at least, find other questions to ponder...

-Bill

·
Registered
2,888 Posts
I'll take a shot. When primary belt drives were first introduced most of them were 1 1/2. I started running them on my bikes back in the 70's (enclosed primary) because Harley lubed their primary chains with a total loss oil system. I burned up a couple of primary chains trying to get minimum oil spots under the bike. It took care of the problem. As far as dry clutches go, big twins ran dry clutches well into the 80's, so it's pretty standard stuff.