Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So here is what I know so far. On the bottom of the pistons it says (TRW 2800 S&S). the rods say (S&S 1200F). The cam says (ANDREWS 48). The fly wheel has no visible markings on the inner rims or through the timing plug only the standard timing marks. I had the machine shop look at the cylinders and he said the were in great shape all he had to do was hone them out. he even said I could probably reuse the pistons but just get new rings. I am really new to the whole harley thing. I would feel more comfortable about getting new pistons and rings but Im not sure what to get because I dont even know what I have as far as (ci,bore,stroke etc.) also I noticed on the top of one of the rods the brass bushing has shifted a little compared to the other side is this anything to be alarmed about. Im really trying to avoid splitting the cases and dumping to much dough in it. any help is good help. thanks!!!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

·
Registered
431 Posts
Some info on the pistons:

http://xlforum.net/vbportal/forums/showthread.php?t=1208660

It looks like you probably have a stroker. The 84" sportster is 4.5" stroke. It's possible to use them with stock stroke, but you'd have to shorten the cylinders or have very low compression. You can measure how far the pin bushes travel and get close enough to know the stroke. It's not real common to have S&S rods with stock stroke, but it does happen. Are you SURE there's no ID code on your wheels? S&S id codes are usually visible through the timing plug hole.

·
Premium Member
7,101 Posts
You will need to email andrews on the cam, but still, what is the stroke, you will be rooting around in the dark untill then....Roach.

·
Registered
2,698 Posts