Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
243 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got the new tires for my bsa. one rim is spray painted silver, the other is pitted rusty chrome. I want them semi gloss black, should I paint or powdercoat? I am trying to keep this as low budget as possible. I am worried that if I paint them that when tires are installed they will chip and scratch. Keep in mind this is not a shiny show bike, and cosmetic perfection is not really important. But will paint hold up?thanks-Brian

·
Registered
1 Posts
The only warning I would give for powder coating is to tell the coater clearly what should be coated. I ran into all sorts of clearance problems with 'accidental' coating. On a spoked rim it should be no big deal except for the spoke holes ... which I have no experience with. My beef was with bearing surfaces on the wheel, disc brake carrier, etc. Lotsa hours spent on my Laverda to remove the errant powder coating ... tough stuff! Good luck.

later,
papa al

oops ... I may not have intro'ed ... HAMBer who has contributed little other than pics and articles, aim to change that. Looking to see if I can build a Triumph bobber for the back of my '53 F100 & still complete my A ... conflicting projects ;-)

·
Registered
76 Posts
Here is a little something for you.. I went to get the wheels powdercoated for my '34 BSA, and the guy wouldn't do it. He said the heat would warp the spokes. Now, if they are already apart, go for it, but if you're bringing in a whole wheel, I wouldn't recommend it.

I ended up getting the wheels bead blasted, used an excellent bare metal primer made for painting parts that were once chrome, and used black enamel, a really good thick enamel. They turned out great.

Anyway, just my 2 cents! Good luck, and post some pics when they are done!

Jim

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
tinyelvis said: