Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 20 of 257 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi-Not sure if my build is true to jockey journal spirit or not but here goes-
i have always wanted a dragbike of some description,i also have always prefered smaller capacity bikes.so my plan here was a light weight bike with an ok horsepower output.i would of liked to build using a british twin but i just can't afford to go down that road.
after buying a dirt bike i decided on mx power.being an engineer i really liked the engineering on KTMs.i was going to use a 450cc but came across a 560 smr engine (approx 60 hp)at the right price.intention is to get it going in standard spec to start,maybe on methanol with some exhaust and cam work.
next came some forks.i wanted light weight and short.i found some good quality aftermarket pit bike forks.they were a bit rough but they had nice triple clamps,and cartridge damping.upon pulling them apart to shorten them i found them a bit worn,so i still shortened the internals for mock-up.i then found a brand new set which i have yet to swap the shortened internals into.i also swapped the clamps around,top to bottom,bottom to top for two reasons,one to mount the handlebars low and to give me more tyre clearance as i was using a bigger diameter wheel than they were made for.then i made some handlebar mounts.(still not sure if i'll use these or go to clip-ons).

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Automotive design Vehicle Bicycle part Nickel Gas Rim Metal Bicycle accessory Nickel Bicycle part Rim Carbon Automotive lighting Font Automotive exterior Motor vehicle Rim Nickel Circle Font Automotive lighting Auto part Bicycle part Rim Gas Cylinder Nickel

next up was tyres-what a mission(i live in new zealand-we're upside down at the bottom of the planet).after a lot of searching i came up with the 17 x 2.5 hooiser and the 18 x 5.5 M/T.(the new 4 inch M & Hs were not being made at this time).