Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone....

So, as per my introduction post, I thought would be good to keep a thread rolling with the progress on the old Ironhead... and seeing as this is my first bike build ever, also a place to post all the questions that are in my head, not without using the search button before, yep I know the drill with forums :D

So, quick rundown for those that didnt see my introduction.
Im a keen mechanic, have a couple of jap bikes, but bobbers and chops was what got me into bikes in the first place.

Always wanted a chop/bobber with an old Harley engine.. money never allowed, till now!

Last week I bought a 1979 Ironhead...a beauty!!
The hardtail has been professionaly welded on, by inner tube and the bolts and the bottom were also welded and covered so you cant see it

Bike came with most of the original parts, 3 different rear fenders and loads of bits...
I think most of it is there, just needs fabrication! and that's where the fun starts! :D

the previous owner also opened the engine, cleaned it and sorted gearbox, so Im assuming its all working as it should.

I was looking at her today and..... dont have a clue where to start! hahahaha
I was trying to figure out something simple...mounting a bracket for the rear brake caliper, then I thought, well, but this will have to move when I adjust the chain...and then thought, well, if this has to move, then the rear fender will have to move... (i was hoping to fit one really close to the tyre)...

so you see how things are going in my head, the last week has been just reading here and other places on the internet.

So, here's some pics to start...hope its not too many!!

·
Registered
317 Posts
Damn man, looks great. My '79 is basically stock and I've had her since she was only a few years old, so no chopping. If it was a new purchase though, which I guess yours is, bad ass!!

·
Registered
1,490 Posts