Jockey Journal Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK it's time i post my build. i have limited tools and even more limited funds but this is my first build so it'll make me happy no matter how it turns out. So i bought this bike back in august for $3000 canadian, the bike would start but not stay running so i assumed it was a carb problem, this was not the case so i'm waiting on a manual so i can check the timing. this is what it looked like when i bought it

Attachments

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
my dream bike is a long bike with a tall back rest and z bars but i settled for this bobber. the brand of bike never really mattered to me but i grew up watching my dad wrench on his 68 bonneville so i gladly scooped up the brtish steel. i'm keeping the general shape of it because i can't afford a new frame and the frame it's in is a 1957 plunger so i don't want to cut into it. my first thought was to strip the paint from the motor.

Attachments

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i'm still working on stripping the paint from the motor but in the mean time i'm stripping other parts and luckily finding chrome underneath some of the paint

Attachments

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
after all that stripping
i realized it was still someone elses bike with less paint so i started picking out new parts. the front fender will just be for passing a safety, as for the bars i'm going to get my old welding teacher to make them for me because i'm cheap

Attachments

·
Registered
177 Posts
way to go man! dont stress the funds issue, remember to just have fun with it.

·
Registered
770 Posts
Good work getting that black off, looks much better. Does that thing have the bottom motor mount bolt? Things look like they could be a little shaky from here.

·
Registered
156 Posts