Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
TI_Tuesday
1,247 Posts
on a generator big twin I like points and my old manual retard timer best (a morris mag's nice too); 6 or 12v ok. I dont have any experience with the mallory's or other electronic conversions...anyone?

also there's the Sputhe gear case cover for generator BT's that allows you to run any late model ignition system...it may be functional but it's ugly as a bag of assholes.

·
Registered
669 Posts
yard man said:
Any major downsides to running one over a more modern ignition system?
Can they only be used with 6 volt?
Points wear out, but they won't leave you stranded like a cooked electronic ignition can. I have no personal experience with the Mallory setup, but I've heard good things about them. Fwiw, run a Dyna S single-fire in my cone shovel.

You must manually retard the timer to start the bike, then advance it all the way to run. '64-down FLs had an advance control on the lh grip, which I like. Some prefer to reach down and move the timer by hand after starting.

Full advance at slow engine speeds (lugging in higher gears) can cause pinging. Neglecting to advance the timing can overheat the motor.

Manual timers are as simple as it gets. No advance weights to wear out or stick. If you don't want to screw with the advance but want points, get a 65-69 BT timer and a good set of advance weights. I run a Rivera setup in my shovel. You'll probably have to play with the flyweight springs to dial in the advance curve and to get the weights to return properly at idle.

·
Registered
7,257 Posts
an old trick for the manual timer and likewise mags, when not running the spark-advance cable, was to have a coil spring secured to the case & around the body of the timer or mag; and the hold-down set so that you could move it both ways by hand, and the spring keeps it held in the advance position.

and as for electronic setups, here's another option - I have'nt run one but have heard good reports on them.