Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
801 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There was a thread a little while back that talked about knurling tools. Seems like a few folks here use them. Can anyone recomend a brand or type of tool for making diamond patterns on round stock? I am not sure where to look to find something like this. Thanks.

·
Registered
62 Posts
They sell em with one roller or two. The single ones suck for diamond patterns. I'm a machinist and I've done tons of knurling. There's kind of an art to it to get the pattern to look nice. You need the pressure on the rollers (top and bottom) to be dead even or the pattern will be out of whack. You need a shitload of pressure too so you need a rigid setup. In almost every case you'll need the work supported by a tailstock or steady rest or you'll just push it out of the chuck. Angling the wheels in the direction you're rolling helps. Go slow with the speed and feed. Engage the clutch and turn the tool into the work as it's feeding. If you stop to check it don't disengage the feed. This is probably the only time you'd ever do this on a manual lathe. If you need more pressure just keep turning the handwheel in slowly. Once you start don't pull the tool away cause it's very tough to get the rollers to mach if you try and make another pass. Use a ton of oil. Cutting oil works great but motor oil will work just fine. Of course this is all for making the knurl look nice. If you just want to rough up a piece of metal just crank er in and go.
Maybe I should post this in the tech area.

http://www1.mscdirect.com/cgi/nnsrhm
MSC has about everything you'll need.

·
Registered
801 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Surly said: