Jockey Journal Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently started riding and while my '08 XL883 gets me down the road, it lacks....character, uniqueness. It's rather bland. So in the interest of riding something with a bit more class, what was the last year for the non-rubber mounted engined Sportster? I figure I'd start there and work my way back in time. I want a bike that shakes my fillings, one that I know is idling. That's what a bike should be.
I'm sure that this topic has been addressed previously; I was unable to find it. Thanks for your help.

XL

·
Registered
234 Posts
I like being shaken a bit too. I understand your thinking. The sportster 1200 engines are pretty gnarly. One of those, solid mounted, would be cool. You could always solid mount what you currently have.

·
Registered
570 Posts
If you want to get rattled, I can tell ya' that an 883 evo (at least stock) isn't likely to do it - even solid mounted.

I've got an '01; it's actually pretty smooth. You can see out the mirrors at 75+. The only real vibration is right at sixty MPH... I find myself doing 58 or 62. Because, right at 60, that little bike hits the 'brown note'.

No kidding. I think if I were to hold it at that speed for a long period, I'd have a very, very unpleasant time doing laundry.

But apart from that, the bike doesn't really rattle/shake a lot (hell, only lost a couple mirrors, a shift peg, and a license plate bolt in a half year of daily riding). :D

Oh, and I've learned to not be afraid to grab the Loctite on the first trip to the toolbox on any job...

Honestly, I feel kinda' like you, that I'd like something a little older and gnarlier. But, my little Sporty is such a nice bike that I don't really want to fuck it up; I'm thinking that the solution for me is to own two bikes.