Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so i'm REALLY new to this bike customizing thing...and i wanna lower my bike so i compressed my spings all the way down but still wanna go lower...my question is, is it alright to cut the springs and if so any specific way to do it?
thanx guys

·
Registered
205 Posts
punkabilly1306 said:
ok so i'm REALLY new to this bike customizing thing...and i wanna lower my bike so i compressed my spings all the way down but still wanna go lower...my question is, is it alright to cut the springs and if so any specific way to do it?
thanx guys
Cutting springs is a no-no,
Not on a car,
Not on a boat,
Not on a bike...

it'll prolly work but you MIGHT have to PAY for it

·
Registered
237 Posts
I wouldn't cut any springs down for the front end. But I have been involved in cutting down springs for rear shocks a couple of times. It works to lower the bike and stiffen the ride. Equally effective at both. But you have to be careful and cut the springs pretty much just right. Can't do like my side burns and take a little off each side until I have a stripe across the top of my head trying to even them up.

Anyway, you will also have to cut the shaft in the shocks. And weld the doohickey for the bolt back on the shaft.

For the front, buy the lowering kits or get the tubes cut to length by a machine shop. But, personally? I'd go with the kit for the front.

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
hey i work for a machine shop so I will see what we can whip up, i never even thought of that...maybe a bracket to compress the springs even more?

·
Registered
12 Posts
punkabilly1306 said:
hey i work for a machine shop so I will see what we can whip up, i never even thought of that...maybe a bracket to compress the springs even more?
We cut the rear springs on my brothers bike to lower the rear end a bit. Looks good and been working fine for a good six months now.