Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a pretty bad noise after I got it fired up from the primary side and I found leaky gaskets. Took the cover off tonight and was pretty stoked with what I found. No metal flake in the oil and all seems pretty clean and in good shape... what say you more knowing folks?? Should i check for anything while I'm here??
Thanks

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
By the way I believe the noise was from zero tension on the chain. When I filled the primary with the gear oil it started pouring out what I thought was the drain hole. I quickly put a bolt in there and the leak stopped. After looking today that is the chain tensioner bolt hole. Kinda important and I'm sure there is a correct bolt for that application. I'll need to get one.

Sorry .. I'm new to these motors:eek:

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I shut the garage down for the night Mr.dragstews...whats your wonder? What should I be looking for? Chain being stretched? I'll get on it immediately after work tomorrow

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
So with zero tension I should be able to pull the chain off the teeth on the back side of the basket? The 1/8" would be measured between the chain and the tips of the teeth? What about a sloppy shifter shaft? Its pretty loose feeling.. I bet there's a bushing to take the slop out. Do you get to that from this side?

·
Registered
42 Posts
Yes if you want to pull the trans out. The bushing is in the side of the case for the shifter shaft and one in the outer primary. It should just float in the bushings with the finger of the shifter shaft in the pawl carrier.

G

·
I should be able to pull the chain off the teeth on the back side of the basket?
Yes....If more then the 1/8 pull off from sprocket teeth is noted...The chain will need to be replaced....If you run a mega worn chain, it will ride high on the teeth and ware the teeth out...