Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question (prob easy for yall) Im about to but a 82 sportster with 7000 miles on it.. My question is it ran for about 5 min and then stopped... Im getting power to the coil but nothing to the plugs!?!? My first thaught is the coils? Im new to harleys and dont know much about them...

Thanks Fellas

·
Registered
2,888 Posts
I know you said you aren't getting power to the plugs, but anytime I start troubleshooting a Sportster ignition problem I start with fresh plugs. Cheap place to start and eliminate one trouble source. I use ACs or Autolites.
Larry T

·
Registered
992 Posts
..and then measure continuity or ohms of secondary coil to rule out coil fault.
next =, check leads to rule out leads ..are they solid copper core?

check for cracks in coil too , HV short to earth.

dead after 5 mins??
heat expansion some where breaking the circuit ??

·
Registered
317 Posts
It has the first gen Harley electronic ignition, happens alot to them. And remember, your dealing with an electronic item that is 30 years old.

·
Registered
457 Posts
It has the first gen Harley electronic ignition, happens alot to them. And remember, your dealing with an electronic item that is 30 years old.
second generation...I am such an ass to say so. The power to the coil was checked? With a volt meter? or a test light? When the engine is cranking the negative side of the coil should flash the test light. If it doesn't flash go back downs stream to the ignition module. make sure it has a good ground. And buy a service manual like Dragstew says.

·
Registered
317 Posts