Jockey Journal Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
480 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello gentlemen, i have an issue here. i am not a mechanic or a machinist so please keep the comments constructive, thanks!. i need a 10" rotor with a 2 3/16 center hole. i cant find one , no one makes them. i have a metal lathe that i can barely use and want to turn a heat treated steel 11.5" rotor, which has the proper center hole (i have 4 of those) to 10". is this possible? i knoiw this stuff is hard and i dont want to overheat it and warp it. what type of tip should i buy? i have a smithy 1220 3 in 1 machine that should be up for the task, i just need the right tip to buy, or a connection to an experienced machinist in shittastic CT . ideally i would like to try this myself, the machine is just sitting there......but if you guys think its going to be a disaster i will mail it to a willing machinist. will pay in cash or parts.

·
Registered
291 Posts
i don't know.
But what would occur to me is that there is a lot of meat on the part so i'd grab a carbide tool and have a go, SUPER SLOW revs. You're not looking for a super fine tolerance so a rough finish would be acceptable. If its not going to work you will know pretty damn quick then off to an equipped machine shop, I wouldn't have thought grinding was called for.

·
Registered
418 Posts
Cutting a 11 1/2" rotor to 10"...
Does the rotor you want to cut down have vent holes in it, will they be at the 10" diameter?
I am no machinist by any stretch of my imagination but I do try now and then.
My old south bend lathe is to small to do rotors but have learned small machines have large limits.
I don't know your machine but most smaller machines are not rigid enough to work on large diameters.
Large diameters, improper cutting speeds (to fast) possible interrupted cuts (passing through holes) will bash carbide tooling to junk quite fast.