Votes: 34 70.8%
  • Ironhead

Votes: 14 29.2%
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I think I've decided to pony up for an American bike. With my budget, the same two bikes keep coming up, Ironheads and FXR's. I am by no means a mechanic, so something a tad more reliable is required, but there is also the customization capabilities to consider. Would like some input.

·
Registered
70 Posts
BikerWanabe said:
I think I've decided to pony up for an American bike. With my budget, the same two bikes keep coming up, Ironheads and FXR's. I am by no means a mechanic, so something a tad more reliable is required, but there is also the customization capabilities to consider. Would like some input.
Depends what you want out of a bike.

If you want a relianle bike to ride, go with the FXR.

If you want to build a chopper, it'll probably be easier with the ironhead.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Looking for a daily rider, something reasonably comfortable because my commute is filled with bad roads, but also something reliable because I suck when it comes to wrenching.

·
Registered
896 Posts
FXR's are a "bikers bike" if you know what I mean. A lot of hardcore riders swear they are the best handling/performing bike HD ever made. They're definatley cool, I remember as a kid if a guy had an FXR with drag bars and a frisco mounted tank he was a badass.

Ironheads make great choppers, they can be made to be very fast and are pretty inexpensive. They are pretty labor intensive, but then again so are old shovels. If you don't know how to wrench you will probably learn in short time with either bikes.

You really can't beat a used evo 1200 for the money. They're pretty cheap these days since the rubber mounted sporty's came out and they haul ass. Maybe not as "cool" to some people, but check out Jose's, that thing is fuckin bad.

·
Registered
351 Posts
Voneville said: