Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
David Bird full hardtail Trumpet build

Hey guys, I thought I'd go ahead and start an official build thread. It is my first build. I've ridden my whole life and always performed my own maintenance, but never actually built a bike. I've pretty much blew all my money on the donor bike and the DB frame, so be warned that it might be slow going. I'll buy parts as I save up the money and keep on keeping on. The goal is to be finished by the end of next summer. However, I rarely meet deadlines or goals, so i'll be real happy if I can ride this beast into the Mayan apocalypse of winter 2012.

So it all started when I drove to St. Louis and drug this heap back to Oklahoma. 1972 T120 OIF. Complete, somewhat disassembled, top end taken apart, but low end is mint. Yeah, you know how that goes.

Tons of stuff was in boxes, rubbermaid containers, loosely bolted onto the bike and completely loose.

I had my brother in law help me lug this beast down to my basement.

Next I did my research, read a ton of stuff on this board, asked for advice and eventually heeded to this advice. I am going to completely rebuild the motor in my basement. I've watched the Four Aces dvd about 5 times, ripped it to my ipad and ready to go. Well almost ready, I still have a few specialty tools to purchase. Anyway, I'm in it to do things right.

Next order of business was to get a proper workspace going. I cleaned out a portion of my basement, went to Lowes and bought some lumber. In a few days I had a proper work bench suitable for rebuilding a motor. I think I overbuilt it a bit. It could probably support a V8, but oh well, it's VERY sturdy.