Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well i found a new chrome shop in elizebethton, tn. R-d chrome
and they sure do good work, get all the nooks & crannys and do a perfect polish job but man are they slow. You fellas dealin with the same thing ? This is costing me a whole riding season with my old pan reserection.
Bob

·
Registered
1,576 Posts
Bob, Chrome is a tough job. I have a local guy that does what I need but yes, he's a bit slow. I get him fired up as we do welding work for him but it does take time. A lot of labor, a lot of consumables cost, a lot of space, and a lot of chemical/zoning, EPA hoops to dance with. It often results in delays if is coupled with badly organized management of the daily routine. I'm not really good at that stuff in my business but if I were a chromer I would downright SUCK too. Waiting 6-8 weeks at the height of the summer is not unheard of. I've dealt with 4 chrome shops over the last 10 years and they are all the same. If he's giving you a good product and you are happy with the cost you are doing ok. Remember- good, fast, cheap. Pick 2. That applies here.

·
Registered
199 Posts
A couple weeks ago, I decided to try Brown's Plating for a couple black triumph rear hubs I needed chromed. They had them back to me in week including shipping time both ways. They called me twice during the job to keep me up to date. Surprised the hell out of me. Using them from now on.

Price was reasonable too, a little over $100 each, given the quick turnaround. According to their website's faq, their quickest turnaround is during the summer months. Go figure.

·
Registered
948 Posts
I worked in a plating shop in the 70s. It takes about a week to do a quality "show" chrome job if you have adequate manpower and everything is working great.
Hank

·
Registered
1,576 Posts