Jockey Journal Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up a swap meet specail Triumph 650 motor and I tore it down and want to pick up new bearings. I ran my parts list past the British parts supplier I realized I would be paying the same price I paid for the motor it self for bearings, self locking rod nuts, push rod tubes and other odds and ends I need.

So ebay shows MUCH cheaper bearings out there, I've searched the board but can't find anything specific on the pros and cons of....(for example) a KYK bearing vs a RHP brand.

Anyone got some real world experince they can share on the matter? This is my first build (still) so any wisdom (beyond that "buy USA only" stuff) would be great.

Tre900

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
Seriously if there is someplace you do not want to go cheap it would be the rotational surfaces of the motor itself.

It is worth spending a few extra bucks on to know they will not lock up or explode under strain .... Ie 3k+ Rpm.

·
Registered
3,691 Posts
In everything, the possibilities of disappointment go up, as the price does down.

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So I have a different take on things I guess. I see prices in direct corilation with products (NOT value). As expectation increases I see disappointment increasing as well.

Its my first build so can someone tell me what I can expect from either RHP or a KYK based on some first hand experince?

I really respect of experince so thanks for the input but like so many things I'm left with a very Yoda like answer. I'm sure if I have the question someone else does too.

Any one have an actual fact on the topic as it relates to the science around ball bearings and or quality control?

·
6,351 Posts
As expectation increases I see disappointment increasing as well.
Like...when you buy a cheap British motor at a swap meet.