Jockey Journal Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in the middle of rebuilding my first engine. It's a 1960 IH. I'm getting ready to replace the cams and through reading the manual I'm getting ready to check the end play. Now I read on here that you shouldn't use cam shims because they just end up chewed up in your oil. I have about 5 on various cams now from the PO, I just left them how I found them, one is already fuct, planned on replacing it. There also on both sides of the cam, case side and cover side. So if using the shims is a no no, whats the sense in removing the tappet guide blocks and checking the endplay? Thanks for the guidance.

·
Registered
162 Posts
I'm no ironhead expert but, what's even worse than chewed up shims is hammered and destroyed cam bushings, covers, and tapper blocks. I just fixed one on a friend of mine's that had not enough shims there fore lots of endplay. Cost him a new set of JIMS blocks and tappets. The roller exploded in the case and it could of been much worse those needle bearings are unforgiving on the cam gears and oil pump when they come apart. Please shim it to spec. You are planning on changing the oil right?

·
Registered
689 Posts
shim the cams to spec. and follow your manual. If done properly, the shims will last. The torn up shims are usually from people not following the cam shimming instructions correctly.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I was actually going off a Harley bulletin from the early 80s that was telling dealer mechanics to stop with the shims, not just opinion on the board. If I were to shim it do you only shim on the cover side? My manual only says measure play and shim accordingly. The PO has shims on both sides.

·
Registered
689 Posts