Jockey Journal Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So...
I picked up a 68 chop a few weeks ago and finally got a chance to work on it for a few minutes. The wiring was a mess so I found this diagram for stock points wiring and wired my bike like this. I gave it several kicks and see NO spark... so I am wondering a few things:

1. Does this diagram look good for a stock ignition setup?
If you have a better/easier diagram I would love to see it. Just remember it needs to be for a neg. ground, points bike with the tympian unit (what does it do by the way?).
2. How do I test the individual components of the ignition (coils, tympian unit, etc...). I have never worked on a brit bike (mostly Jap) so I am a total newb when it comes to Lucas and his AMAZING electrical :)
3. I would like to get the bike running using the stock components, and then I will probably switch it over to an aftermarket setup. What do you guys recommend... Boyer, Sparx, ???

Sorry for the "dumb" questions but I have to learn sometime. Please no suggestions just to scrap the existing ignition and start fresh, I want to make sure that the motor is OK before I purchase any other parts. Thanks in advance for the help... Cole

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
4. does the wire from the key switch go to the + or - side of the coil?

5. Which of these components needs to be grounded to the bike in order to work? I wired everything up just like the diagram shows, but left all the wiring to the components extra long and laid all the stuff on the shop floor just to see if it would work before I mounted it permanently. I did mount the tympian unit to the frame though... if that matters?

6. My tympian unit wire colors and locations are different than the one shown in the diagram, where it says black (wire) my wire is brown, and my wires are not in the same locations (but the rest of the colors are the same)???

·
Registered
23 Posts