Jockey Journal Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
697 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
when i traded my 04 fxd for this 74 shovel in its stock form straight up last summer i sorta regretted it. nothing against shovels but i am by no means an expert with the wrench nor a historian of all things old bike/chopper/bobber. i have a limited "skill" set and a budget to match.

so after my initial rides on the bike i ran into a snafu when the taillight fell off at 75mph on the hiway and destroyed the wiring and the rear fender.

so i plopped on a low brow tank and cut down the fender and called it good. at the same time i was flipping through tons of pics of shovels and i came across the garage Co "Astroglide". I had always intended to keep the shovel as a swingarm bike and when i saw the Astroglide i got my inspiration. i wanted a KQ seat and i dont want to copy their bike but its def been my main source of "damn thats fucking nice"-ness.

so here is my humble beginnings based on that killer bike. i hope it ends up half as sweet as theirs and if it does i'll be very stoked. i need to do up a set of pipes - not in any way like theirs - and i just ordered some new grips. need to rewire and clean everything up, get the fender powdered a slightly brighter purple than what the stock purple is. that should do it.

tank is from Dan "mroldbiker". its beautiful and i had to grab my nuts and cut off the stock tabs to make it fit. i dont love the front mount but for some reason i dont hate it either. hopefully once everything is sanded and painted it will clean up well.

·
Registered
223 Posts
It's a cool rider as is.....for some reason, it just seems to be asking for a nice 21" up front?! Keep at it! F-Winter!

·
Registered
78 Posts
thats the funkiest front tank mount i have ever seen.

Loose the side battery and go for a horseshoe oil bag and rigid rear

Butt thats what you were thinkin anyway

·
Registered
697 Posts
Discussion Starter #6