Jockey Journal Forum banner

1 - 20 of 241 Posts

·
Registered
496 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is my first time at this, so I'm counting on you guys for help :)

I'm going to try to make as many of my own parts as I can, and I'll be doing all the work myself. I'm going to try to keep it simple, since I want to have a ridable bike come spring.

I'll be posting updates in this thread as I go.

Started here, for $1300, rode it as is all summer.

After some work today, she's in pieces:

The paper bags are full of hardware, and are labelled.

The only wrench I have that will fit the swingarm attachment nut is an adjustable wrench, and it's not grabbing well enough for me to get the nut loose. If I buy a socket large enough, should I be able to get it off (with a cheater bar if necessary), or am I better off finding someone with an impact wrench?

I'll be getting a hardtail from Hammer in Hand cycles, I've already got a king Sportster tank, Biltwell keystone bars, and some other cool bits. I'll be attempting the oil tank, seat, mid-controls, etc myself.

Edit: Managed to mis-spell the thread title. If a mod wouldn't mind...
________
Lovely Wendie

·
Registered
601 Posts
good luck on the project. on my 79 if i remember right i just unbolted it. the "nut" was actually a long axle (pivot bolt). support the swingarm, slide the bolt out and then just pull off the swingarm. the only thing i see different for your year according to my manual is after you remove the pivot bolt, says then remove the bearing lockwasher. hope this helps. good luck. looking forward to fallowing the build from another rhode islander.

·
Registered
601 Posts
Hm, I don't have my manual in front of me, but I was reading it earlier - I think it said something like "remove the swingarm nut and the swingarm can be disassembled" - not very helpful :)
thats about it. once the pivot bolt is out the swingarm comes off. even the manual explanation is just a paragraph.

·
Registered
364 Posts