Jockey Journal Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I would like to say hello! My name is Cole and this is my first post. I am new to the world of brit bikes (owned and repaired dozens of jap/harleys), and I was sent to this forum by several people that said its "the place to be". Well, the first thing I did was look through the tech section so I wouldn't ask any "newbie" questions, but I am sure I will anyway (I apologize in advance). I got my new 650 chop home, and I have a few questions:

1. I would like to do a compression test on the engine and needs to know a few things. What are good compression numbers for one of these engines? How many time do I need to kick it through to get an accurate result (never owned a kick only bike).

2. I cleaned up the 930 Amal carb, but I need a new fuel banjo before I can do anything with it. I noticed that it had a 190 main jet in it, but most places I look say that is the size jet that dual carb setup's use, and that a single carb setup would have a 230 or 240 main??? That seems HUGE to me, but what do I know. Also, should a put time into getting the Amal going, or should I just buy a PWK setup from Lowbrow customs.

3. This bike still has the points setup, should I get it running with this setup first or should I just get an electronic ignition setup???

4. The bikes wiring is a nightmare and I would like to wire it from scratch, anybody got a diagram for simple wiring that will work for one of these???

I looked in the tech section but noticed that the few diagrams that were brit bike specific are no longer there (images deleted). I am looking for a diagram that I can follow exactly for my dual coil, points, positive ground setup, or a diagram that shows me exactly how to rewire it as negative ground setup... I am an electronic moron, but I can follow directions.