Motor Mount Issue - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-19-2010, 05:51 PM   #1
Drake9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vandenberg AFB, CA
Posts: 207
Default Motor Mount Issue

So I got my 81 Ironhead motor back into the frame last week. I noticed something with the motor mount that has me a little concerned. I had the frame hardtailed and the bolts dont fill the new mount. I have provided a picture to show what I am talking about. I still need to get some shorter bolts for the lower bolts.....thats the one I took a picture of. So I know the bolt needs to be shorter.



So I measured some stuff with a caliper and the bolt is .375", hole is .446" and frame mount is .5" thick. So do I just bolt it up and tighten them down and ride it? I am concerned that the motor is going to move up and down to much when running so I am not comfortable with that option at the moment.

I was thinking that I could maybe have a machinist do up some spacers for me. Kinda like a sleeve with built in washer that the bolt will go through. Does that make sense?

The stock bolts are what is in there right now.
__________________
Current Ride
81 Sportster Project

My Blog
http://bublitzbikes.blogspot.com/
Drake9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2010, 05:59 PM   #2
velomech
Senior Member
 
velomech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville GA, The G.V.L.
Posts: 344
Default Re: Motor Mount Issue

If it's tight enough, the motor wont move. if it bugs you, get the sleeves made...remember, loctite is your friends.
__________________
Cheers and Beers
Hodge

Quit yer bitchin, ride your bike, drink yer beer.
velomech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 03:38 AM   #3
shovithead
Senior Member
 
shovithead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cocoa Florida USA
Posts: 2,486
Default Re: Motor Mount Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by velomech View Post
If it's tight enough, the motor wont move. if it bugs you, get the sleeves made...remember, loctite is your friends.
Afraid not......if you don't have the spacers, you will never get it tight enough, with the full length bolts. The spacers are required to have something to torque the bolts to. I recommend the spacers, so you don't have a failure in the motormounts or front motor cases.
__________________
Keep the old Iron on the road....

42 UL long term project
44 Wife and best friend(Keeper for sure)
51 FLH short term project
60 Doc Dytch XLCH Drag only
61 XLCH parts bike
65 XLCH parts bike
66 FLH
68 XLCH parts bike
69 XLH wifies bike
69 XLH daily rider
70 XLH
72 XLH
72 C30 Chevy truck
73 FLH chopper(Shirley the Shovelhead) Daily rider
shovithead is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 12-20-2010, 08:09 PM   #4
Lucky59
Senior Member
 
Lucky59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 182
Default Re: Motor Mount Issue

^^^plus one^^^
just because it's good to be human!
Lucky59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 08:44 PM   #5
velomech
Senior Member
 
velomech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville GA, The G.V.L.
Posts: 344
Default Re: Motor Mount Issue

wait a minute, the bolt pinches the frame between the bolt head and the motor, how can that not get tight enough? Not of my mounts are so tight the bolt fits tight in the slot, and they dont move at all....
__________________
Cheers and Beers
Hodge

Quit yer bitchin, ride your bike, drink yer beer.
velomech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 09:16 PM   #6
Lucky59
Senior Member
 
Lucky59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 182
Default Re: Motor Mount Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by velomech View Post
wait a minute, the bolt pinches the frame between the bolt head and the motor, how can that not get tight enough? Not of my mounts are so tight the bolt fits tight in the slot, and they dont move at all....
SEMANTICS, WE ARE SAYING THE SAME THING...I was reading it as the spacer not standining proud. Just locating everything as god intended. I'm anal about shit like that, sorry!
Lucky59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:49 PM   #7
Richharr
Senior Member
 
Richharr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 706
Default Re: Motor Mount Issue

make shouldered studs. the spacer would be .071" thick and I would think a spacer that thin would warp and oblong itself.
__________________
http://fucdatbirth.blogspot.com/

"semper fi" yeah I was miserable and tired for a few years too.
Richharr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:30 PM   #8
dieselc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dayton
Posts: 12
Default Re: Motor Mount Issue

Could'nt you just weld the hole in the frame shut and redrill it?
dieselc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:50 PM   #9
Drake9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vandenberg AFB, CA
Posts: 207
Default Re: Motor Mount Issue

Talked with the shop that did the work and they said that is how they do all there sportys and have had no issues. They recommended the shouldered bolts as well if I wanted to do anything but assured me it wasn't necessary.
__________________
Current Ride
81 Sportster Project

My Blog
http://bublitzbikes.blogspot.com/
Drake9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 02:38 AM   #10
punkrod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 438
Default Re: Motor Mount Issue

Use a thick fixturing flat washer, a heavy duty split lock washer and new grade 8 bolts torqued to spec and you shouldn't have a problem, (a shoulder bolt won't be strong enough). Loc-tite or safety wire will help too. However, anything you can do to take out the slop between the bolt and the slot will help to keep the bolt from loosening up. In cases like these, I'll cut a small piece of steel tubing and drill it out so it just fits around the bolt and into the slot, but not longer than the thickness of the tab. Spending a few bucks on good new hardware will save the headaches of dropped mounting bolts later.
punkrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 05:14 PM   #11
Young Russ
Junior Member
 
Young Russ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East-Central PA
Posts: 19
Default Re: Motor Mount Issue

I agree that a good grade 8 bolt, lock, flat, lock-tite will get the job done. Trying to make a shouldered sleeve that thin isn't necessary. Those four bolts in conjunction with each other will do the job. Not to mention, the top motor mount will be holding it down...especially if you have one between the heads.
Young Russ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:27 PM   #12
velomech
Senior Member
 
velomech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville GA, The G.V.L.
Posts: 344
Default Re: Motor Mount Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky59 View Post
SEMANTICS, WE ARE SAYING THE SAME THING...I was reading it as the spacer not standining proud. Just locating everything as god intended. I'm anal about shit like that, sorry!
Hey pal! Who the hell are you callin a symant..simentik... a symnat...ummm, I dont know what that means.....

LOL. I get it now....
__________________
Cheers and Beers
Hodge

Quit yer bitchin, ride your bike, drink yer beer.
velomech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.