BSA Dynamo Chain Snapped - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2016, 09:54 AM   #1
jer
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 65
Default BSA Dynamo Chain Snapped

Has anyone else ever had their dynamo drive chain snap? It's on a 52 BSA A10 plunger with a Lucas E3L. I use semi liquid grease as a lubricant. The Dynamo has just been rebuilt at huge expense so I'm pretty confident it's ok, although it is quite warm/hot after a ride. I've only done 170 miles with this chain. It could just be that it was a cheap chain? can't remember how much it was or where I got it,there is no makers name stamped on it which points to it being cheap.

There was no damage, the chain just dropped clear to the bottom of it's case, didn't even hear it happening. I might not be as lucky next time.
jer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2016, 02:02 PM   #2
Tony the torch
Senior Member
 
Tony the torch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: still in so cal.
Posts: 3,691
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony the torch
Default Re: BSA Dynamo Chain Snapped

it happens.
take a good look at the gear on the gennie.
get a new chain from somewhere, watch it run without the cover on it and make sure the chain is happy.
__________________
Possibly the finest private collection of Whitworth screwdrivers in the U.S.
Tony the torch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 02:56 PM   #3
magnum45pete
Senior Member
 
magnum45pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brighton England
Posts: 1,649
Default Re: BSA Dynamo Chain Snapped

You can get a belt drive conversion for it from SRM... lasts Years and quiet....

http://shop.srmclassicbikes.com/prod...-a10-1950-1963


.

Last edited by magnum45pete; 09-20-2016 at 03:02 PM.
magnum45pete is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 09-20-2016, 02:56 PM   #4
jer
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 65
Default Re: BSA Dynamo Chain Snapped

Thanks, good to know it does happen. I've bought a new chain, a Reynolds one. Will check out what you say, don't want it snapping again and causing damage.
jer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 03:01 PM   #5
jer
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 65
Default Re: BSA Dynamo Chain Snapped

I've seen the belt drives and did think about it but didn't go that way. I like keeping old stuff going. Same with the primary drive, I still use chains there.
jer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 PM.