Wiring Lights with a Joe Hunt - Page 2 - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2016, 08:44 PM   #21
BackPorchChoppers
Senior Member
 
BackPorchChoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington Texas
Posts: 965
Default

Well I got the new sparx rotor installed it came out of the 220 watt lit that requires a battery but I dont think that I will need a battery just using the rotor? Anyway after I installed the rotor I broke the throttle cabel. So testing has not happend yet.
BackPorchChoppers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2016, 03:13 PM   #22
BackPorchChoppers
Senior Member
 
BackPorchChoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington Texas
Posts: 965
Default

Got my throttle fixed, and fired her up now from the stater with no load I'm reading 9.3 AC volts meter set on 20 as was earlier suggested.
BackPorchChoppers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 03:18 PM   #23
BackPorchChoppers
Senior Member
 
BackPorchChoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington Texas
Posts: 965
Default

So my question is, is 9.3 AC volts from the syator enough?
BackPorchChoppers is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 09-19-2016, 08:27 PM   #24
Tony the torch
Senior Member
 
Tony the torch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: still in so cal.
Posts: 3,691
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony the torch
Default Re: Wiring Lights with a Joe Hunt

ok here is what I think about this,

1. a 220 watt stator in proper working order.... will burn up just about every rectifier/regulator box that I know about if you use it without a battery.
(that is why it says must be used with a battery).

2. if your ROTOR is not brand new out of a box...it's very likely no good anymore.(it does not mater what any screwdriver says.. you need a Gauss meter and nobody ever has one).

3. most stators are still good if the wires haven't been broken off or the rotor didn't melt it.

4. a magneto no-battery bike does not need a high output stator ! it needs the standard 10 amp/120 watt stator and a simple rectifier without a capacitor, ( something like a $40 Tympanium unit).

5. ....get a good used 2 wire stator, buy a new rotor if you want good lights, get a Tympainum regulator and be done with it.

notes...

at idle a good unregulated stator puts out about 16vac on each of the (yellow/?) wires to ground and about 24volts ac wire to wire.

a 3 wire stator could be a high output 200 watt stator....or an old 6 volt 3 wire stator, ( a 6vt will work fine).

a cheap volt meter often times will not give you an intelligible readout on no-battery bikes (it changes too fast)
__________________
Possibly the finest private collection of Whitworth screwdrivers in the U.S.

Last edited by Tony the torch; 09-19-2016 at 08:39 PM.
Tony the torch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 09:04 PM   #25
BackPorchChoppers
Senior Member
 
BackPorchChoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington Texas
Posts: 965
Default

Tony, I'm running a new 200 watt stater, a podtronix regulator/rectifier without a compaciter, and a sparx rotor that came out of a 220 kit. Sorry for the confusion.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2016-09-19-19-58-39_1474333420252.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	224506   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2016-09-19-19-57-55_1474333438087.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	8.7 KB
ID:	224514  
BackPorchChoppers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 09:36 PM   #26
reverb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: .
Posts: 1,301
Default Re: Wiring Lights with a Joe Hunt

...is my understanding that the capacitor is to avoid the battery...
I have a tri spark 3 phase regulator with capacitor (I think is the only one in the market) because the RM24 is a three phase alternator. It s a 750 79 engine.
reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 09:52 PM   #27
Tony the torch
Senior Member
 
Tony the torch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: still in so cal.
Posts: 3,691
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony the torch
Default Re: Wiring Lights with a Joe Hunt

Quote:
Originally Posted by BackPorchChoppers View Post
Tony, I'm running a new 200 watt stater, a podtronix regulator/rectifier without a compaciter, and a sparx rotor that came out of a 220 kit. Sorry for the confusion.
Why would you ever want 200 watts of power for a headlight and a taillight ?

The 200 watt Podtronics regulator will likely get hot and burn out without a battery and trying to get rid of all that unused power.

at best it will need a lot of air for cooling and a good bare metal mount to get rid of all the power.
__________________
Possibly the finest private collection of Whitworth screwdrivers in the U.S.

Last edited by Tony the torch; 09-19-2016 at 10:15 PM.
Tony the torch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 09:58 PM   #28
Tony the torch
Senior Member
 
Tony the torch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: still in so cal.
Posts: 3,691
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony the torch
Default Re: Wiring Lights with a Joe Hunt

Reverb
a capacitor will take the pulses out of the lights on his bike when the it idles...that's about it.

a cap is a must on a bike with an electronic ignition for it to run right.. his bike has a mag.
__________________
Possibly the finest private collection of Whitworth screwdrivers in the U.S.

Last edited by Tony the torch; 09-19-2016 at 10:08 PM.
Tony the torch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 10:39 PM   #29
Tony the torch
Senior Member
 
Tony the torch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: still in so cal.
Posts: 3,691
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony the torch
Default Re: Wiring Lights with a Joe Hunt

BPC
my advice is leave that new 200 watt stator out, and put the old one back in.
use the new rotor..

is there 2 or 3 wires on the stator ?
__________________
Possibly the finest private collection of Whitworth screwdrivers in the U.S.
Tony the torch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 10:40 PM   #30
BackPorchChoppers
Senior Member
 
BackPorchChoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington Texas
Posts: 965
Default

Well Tony, thats the only stator Lowbrow offers. And right now I dont think I'm worried about burning up the regulator/rectifier seeing what I'm reading from the stator. What stator would you recomend and where can I get it?
BackPorchChoppers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 11:32 PM   #31
Tony the torch
Senior Member
 
Tony the torch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: still in so cal.
Posts: 3,691
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony the torch
Default Re: Wiring Lights with a Joe Hunt

Quote:
Originally Posted by BackPorchChoppers View Post
Well Tony, thats the only stator Lowbrow offers. And right now I dont think I'm worried about burning up the regulator/rectifier seeing what I'm reading from the stator. What stator would you recomend and where can I get it?

how any wires are on it ?............ 2 or 3 ?

what happened to the old stator ?
__________________
Possibly the finest private collection of Whitworth screwdrivers in the U.S.
Tony the torch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 11:40 PM   #32
Tony the torch
Senior Member
 
Tony the torch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: still in so cal.
Posts: 3,691
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony the torch
Default Re: Wiring Lights with a Joe Hunt

if you really are just getting some low voltage reading, either something is wrong with the charging system or the metering ..so... fire it up and see what happens.

the charging system will not make any difference in the way it runs ....if you have a separate magneto system for the ignition.
__________________
Possibly the finest private collection of Whitworth screwdrivers in the U.S.
Tony the torch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 11:59 PM   #33
Tony the torch
Senior Member
 
Tony the torch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: still in so cal.
Posts: 3,691
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony the torch
Default Re: Wiring Lights with a Joe Hunt

with a 3 phase 200 watt 3 three wire stator actually puts out less power at low rpm than a 120 watt 2 phase 2 wire stator !

the reason is it takes more revolutions for 3 phases to pass over and over (or frequency) ...than it does for 2 phases to pass over and over.

so at low rpm you have lower frequency and actually get less voltage...
__________________
Possibly the finest private collection of Whitworth screwdrivers in the U.S.

Last edited by Tony the torch; 09-20-2016 at 12:13 AM.
Tony the torch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 01:05 AM   #34
Chico Lanzerote
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: London, England
Posts: 26
Default Re: Wiring Lights with a Joe Hunt

I can tell you what works on my (magneto and batteryless) Enfield.

I have a 120 Watt Lucas stator with a Sparx rotor and a Pazon Battery Eliminator. I run a 65 Watt H4 headlight and an incandescent stop/tail light.

When converting from points and coil ignition to magneto, I realised that I’d have some spare Watts to get rid of with this set up, so I wired the bike so the headlight was permanently on.

Works a treat.
Chico Lanzerote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 07:50 AM   #35
BackPorchChoppers
Senior Member
 
BackPorchChoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington Texas
Posts: 965
Default

Tony, its a 2 wire stator, the old one the wires were bfoke at the base.
BackPorchChoppers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 09:39 AM   #36
Tony the torch
Senior Member
 
Tony the torch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: still in so cal.
Posts: 3,691
Send a message via Yahoo to Tony the torch
Default Re: Wiring Lights with a Joe Hunt

ok then put it all together, make sure you have about 2k clearance all around the stator and rotor.

fire it up and see what it's putting out.
__________________
Possibly the finest private collection of Whitworth screwdrivers in the U.S.
Tony the torch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.