Jockey Journal Forum banner

Tech: Making a seat

6K views 47 replies 35 participants last post by  fastbastard 
#1 ·
So I crafted up a seat this past weekend. I've used this method a few times. usually trying to perfect and improve every time. I am by no means a pro, I never learned this from anyone, I just tried it out and it has worked for me over the past couple years. So here we go......

I like to use a fiberglass pan. they are really light, easy to make and fit really tight to the frame.

Supplies, everything is readily available at any auto parts store.

First you need to take off the area that you want to pour the fiberglass. This layer of take is going to keep it from sticking to your frame. use a good 3 to 4 layers, as the resin dries it will soak through just one layer so don't be stingy. Also some plastic sheeting protects the rest of your bike. This stuff gets nasty. WEAR GLOVES!

I like to cut the fiberglass blanket so i have one piece that will cover the whole seat pan. I lay that down first, soak with resin using a brush, then I put all the little 2" strips I cut up on top, making sure to cross them in all different directions. If you haven't used fiberglass resin, it gives you about 20 minutes of work time before it starts to set, so work fast. The key is to keep all the fiberglass tight fitting to the frame. Don't let it pucker up, that will create big air pockets in your pan. Use your brush to blot it back down and keep it sticking to the layer below it.

Let that puppy dry over night and pop it off! As you can see, I didn't put enough tape down, the resin reacts with the tape adhesive and makes a sticky mess. Nothing a little paint thinner or goo-gone can't handle.

Now mark draw out your outline and cut away, I think a jig saw works best. Once its cut out, hit all the rough spots and edge with some sand paper.