Jockey Journal Forum banner

Advice on 45's?

5K views 26 replies 18 participants last post by  Hopper 
#1 ·
I'm not a mechanic but I'm not braindead either... I THINK I can learn, or at least die trying! My grandpa rode a BT flattie back in '36 and I'd love to have one to ride now. I can't find an affordable BT but 45's are all over though I have no clue as to what they're worth in any of the varying stages I find them in.

Questions are;
-can a 45 be dependable as far as riding as a daily or at least on a regular basis?
-what sort of price range should I expect to pay for a complete or nearly complete 45 motor?
-is there anyone that just likes to talk flatties with total greenhorns and more specifically, anyone in Texas interested in the same?

Thanks in advance for your replies... I'm a sponge waiting to absorb all I can about these bikes!

Sincerely,
Scott McMahon

#5 ·
I have had a 1942 WLA for two years. Although I have not rebuilt it (yet), I have done a bunch of fixing. Rewired it, scraped carbon of the heads, rebuilt oil pumps etc. It is a real fun bike. Had to learn how to ride again because of the foot clutch. Mine will comfortably do 50 and a little more but I don't like to push it. Those in the know say they are very reliable and like Danisdad says above, you can fix it yourself. I see it like a big lawnmower engine... It goes slow and stops slow.

#6 ·
With a little work, they can be damn reliable machines. But you will never get a stocker to run more than about 50, unless you want to rebuild it every year. They are like all harleys, you can get a deal, or you can get fucked. Depends on how much you know about working on them and how much you want to put in to making it a daily rider. With enough money, you can get one, ready to go, but they can be a little pricey unless you run into a deal. A basket shovel would be a better fit, and it would not cost you any more than the 45, and would be much better for the money. But that is my opinion.

#7 ·