handlebars broke!!! yikes!! - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2009, 10:31 AM   #1
cyclocrossbikes
Senior Member
 
cyclocrossbikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: denver
Posts: 604
Default handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

So my handlebars broke while riding yesterday!! [email protected]! That got my attention!! They are a three piece design, and it was the clamp that holds each bar and bolts to the top tree that snapped! right in the middle...... Anyone got a clamp like this they'll sell me cheap? Or better yet, I would like to find some one piece bars that bolt directly to the tree... they need to be 7/8th's where the controls are concerned. Will pay for something cool....





__________________
No front brake?... Hell, my other bike has no brakes at all!
( font: Courier )

Last edited by cyclocrossbikes; 04-26-2009 at 10:41 AM.
cyclocrossbikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2009, 10:37 AM   #2
r0yal
Senior Member
 
r0yal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 266
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

there are a couple guys here that make some sweet bars, check the Jock Shops section.
r0yal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 12:19 PM   #3
superflysnow
Senior Member
 
superflysnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: grand junction
Posts: 244
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

yo, check your PM bars are your if you need em
-josh
superflysnow is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 04-26-2009, 12:51 PM   #4
Billdozer2
Senior Member
 
Billdozer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 1,287
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

So it was the clamp, not the bars?
__________________
Biltwell Chop Cult
Billdozer2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 12:55 PM   #5
M.O.Ther
Senior Member
 
M.O.Ther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 2,138
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

All the clamps that are like that have a 3 1/2" center for the mounting bolts. Looks like someone widened that one to fit on the '49-59 top tree, and apparently, could have done a better job of it.
__________________
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. Yogi Berra
M.O.Ther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 01:56 PM   #6
Osprey
Senior Member
 
Osprey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nu Gerzee Koast(Asbury,NJ)
Posts: 883
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

try frontstreet cycle in jock shops.
Osprey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 02:18 PM   #7
ALKAY191
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: FL,SoCal or somewhere else
Posts: 200
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

thats a really odd break .......

did you overtighten it ? are you using 1in bars or 7/8 ?
ALKAY191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 02:28 PM   #8
Bigincher
Member
 
Bigincher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 95
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

I have a spare clamp like that, but my buddy in Indiana has it, if you can't come up with one, let me know, I'll have him mail it back to me.
Bigincher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 02:39 PM   #9
BIG WHEELS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: england
Posts: 428
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

you can see in the first pic that the clamp has been welded in the center, bad idea on on a cast steel piece that will be flexing as you tighten/loosen it, no wonder it broke,
BIG WHEELS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 03:44 PM   #10
Bigincher
Member
 
Bigincher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 95
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.O.Ther View Post
All the clamps that are like that have a 3 1/2" center for the mounting bolts. Looks like someone widened that one to fit on the '49-59 top tree, and apparently, could have done a better job of it.
Oh good point, that's the whole deal right there. Should use the early risers with that top tree, and one-piece bars.
Bigincher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 03:51 PM   #11
hotsos
Senior Member
 
hotsos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tarana ON
Posts: 1,555
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

scary, handlebars are important.
__________________
_____________________________________________
Girl: "What're you rebelling against, Johnny?"
Johnny: "Whaddya got?"
hotsos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 08:24 PM   #12
cyclocrossbikes
Senior Member
 
cyclocrossbikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: denver
Posts: 604
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.O.Ther View Post
All the clamps that are like that have a 3 1/2" center for the mounting bolts. Looks like someone widened that one to fit on the '49-59 top tree, and apparently, could have done a better job of it.
Actually now that it's broken in two... and I can see the insides.... it kinda looks exactly like that's what happened....
__________________
No front brake?... Hell, my other bike has no brakes at all!
( font: Courier )
cyclocrossbikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 08:25 PM   #13
cyclocrossbikes
Senior Member
 
cyclocrossbikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: denver
Posts: 604
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billdozer2 View Post
So it was the clamp, not the bars?
yep, clamp. bars are bombproof.
__________________
No front brake?... Hell, my other bike has no brakes at all!
( font: Courier )
cyclocrossbikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 05:55 PM   #14
fisticuffs
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

It also appears that the bars are actually 2 pieces? Did they get split to be widened? That would put undue stress on individual sides of the clamp. Maybe I am seeing that wrong.
fisticuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 07:13 PM   #15
BORED
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hill Country,Tx.
Posts: 503
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

Ok to recap...

1.widened top clamp
2. cast steel welded to widen
3. 1" clamp for 7/8" bars
4. Bars cut and spread
5. Bars barley get to clamp bolts exerting a lot of leverage
6. Anyone got a clamp like this they'll sell me cheap?'
__________________
"I would never want to belong to a club that would have me as a member"
BORED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 09:34 PM   #16
ALKAY191
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: FL,SoCal or somewhere else
Posts: 200
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BORED View Post
Ok to recap...

1.widened top clamp
2. cast steel welded to widen
3. 1" clamp for 7/8" bars
4. Bars cut and spread
5. Bars barley get to clamp bolts exerting a lot of leverage
6. Anyone got a clamp like this they'll sell me cheap?'
You can buy that clamp from JPCycles for about $30 or find it on fleebay for 20.
Problem is that it will have to be widened just like yours and you still can't clamp 7/8 bars in a 1in clamp.
Kinda like bashing your head into a wall over and over and expecting different results.
ALKAY191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 11:28 PM   #17
cyclocrossbikes
Senior Member
 
cyclocrossbikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: denver
Posts: 604
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BORED View Post
Ok to recap...

1.widened top clamp
2. cast steel welded to widen
3. 1" clamp for 7/8" bars
4. Bars cut and spread
5. Bars barley get to clamp bolts exerting a lot of leverage
6. Anyone got a clamp like this they'll sell me cheap?'
Now I remember why I don't log on here anymore....
__________________
No front brake?... Hell, my other bike has no brakes at all!
( font: Courier )
cyclocrossbikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 03:16 AM   #18
Toecutterp
Senior Member
 
Toecutterp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wenatchee Wash
Posts: 880
Default Re: handlebars broke!!! yikes!!

Were you getting pushed by someone?
Toecutterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.