oil filter - to run or not to run - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2008, 11:54 AM   #1
sideshow
Senior Member
 
sideshow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fort Bragg
Posts: 230
Default oil filter - to run or not to run

I'm looking for personal experiences from people who have run without a traditional oil filter. I'm talking about running without your normal run of the mill bike oil filter.. If you ran with a small inline filter or some other idea post your experiences!

I'm trying to make some decisions on what to run on my pan, but id like to hear experiences from as many people as possible first..
__________________
www.myspace.com/deadelvisrun
sideshow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-18-2008, 01:25 PM   #2
Creepinogie
Senior Member
 
Creepinogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Minnesota/North Dakota
Posts: 1,704
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

I've run with and without and recommend to run with one. You can get filters that slip over the return tube inside the oil tank and are hidden. Why would you not want to run one?
Creepinogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 01:47 PM   #3
sideshow
Senior Member
 
sideshow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fort Bragg
Posts: 230
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

Im going to run with SOMETHING.. Just want to get away from the big twist on filter.

Looking at a small inline magnetic filter on the return line and maybe a magnet on the bottom of my oil tank?

looking for something invisible sort of. Any links on the oil filter youre talking about?
__________________
www.myspace.com/deadelvisrun
sideshow is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 09-18-2008, 02:05 PM   #4
Creepinogie
Senior Member
 
Creepinogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Minnesota/North Dakota
Posts: 1,704
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

Kiwi Indian sells something made for an Indian oil tank which slips over the return line inside the tank but the same principal can be used for any dry sump oil tank. Personally, I like external filters with some cooling capability. And you'd need to make sure the return tube inside the tank is accesable from the fill cap. Or, do something like the HD square oil tanks and run a filter housed inside the tank. Very similar to KiwiMikes design.
Creepinogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 02:05 PM   #5
Fredo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 1,737
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

I've run both, A while back Trent told me about running the small inline unit. I'm real happy with it. Easy to clean out, looks good, works fine. I do run a magnet type plug in my oil bag for the bigger chunks. You never know when you might want to reclaim that wrist pin keeper!!
Fredo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 02:16 PM   #6
ryangobie
Senior Member
 
ryangobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 946
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

anyone have a link to the inline magnetic filter. i had it bookmarked on an old computer and remember it took a good long while for me to find.
__________________
-Ryan
ryangobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 03:05 PM   #7
2_wheel_nation
Senior Member
 
2_wheel_nation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: woosta, MA
Posts: 2,570
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

i have an inline from Earls, if you're running a HD you can get the sifton units a little cheaper. you can kinda see it peeking out down there.

__________________
i'm an asshole, you probably shouldn't listen to me.
2_wheel_nation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 03:23 PM   #8
blackcrown
Senior Member
 
blackcrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,558
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

how would you go about making that work if you've got hard lines?
__________________
an intelligent man wins his battles with pointed sticks...I'm sorry, I meant words...pointed words.

http://mrcrownsmotorservice.wordpress.com/
blackcrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 03:31 PM   #9
=mike=
motorcycle enthusiast
 
=mike='s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: sandy ego
Posts: 2,656
Send a message via AIM to =mike= Send a message via Yahoo to =mike=
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

break the line somewhere and add it with 2 pieces of tubing .
__________________
My blog . . . mostly-uninteresting
=mike= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 04:18 PM   #10
Coco
Senior Member
 
Coco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Regina Sk. Canada
Posts: 1,472
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2_wheel_nation View Post
i have an inline from Earls, if you're running a HD you can get the sifton units a little cheaper. you can kinda see it peeking out down there.
Sorry to hijack.

2 wheel, is that your only filter on your Triumph? I still have no idea which way I'm going to go so I am still looking at all of my options. I may go with an oil tank that has the stock Triumph type filter in the tank or your version if I run a tank without a filter bung.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Coco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 11:29 PM   #11
gryer
Junior Member
 
gryer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 29
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2_wheel_nation
i have an inline from Earls, if you're running a HD you can get the sifton units a little cheaper. you can kinda see it peeking out down there.


That's exactly what I'm looking for my ride. Do you know the p/n or description? There are several different types/models.
__________________
Que lastima!!
gryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 07:39 AM   #12
2_wheel_nation
Senior Member
 
2_wheel_nation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: woosta, MA
Posts: 2,570
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

no, it's not the only filter. there's also a screen filter in the sump (it's a preunit) and another screen filter in the oil tank. so i'm triple screen filtered.

i got all the pieces from here: http://www.anplumbing.com/shop/index.php

the filter itself is 230304, and then you need to get -4 AN 'superstock' hose barbs. don't bother with the superstock hose, it won't go on anything but those fittings (trust me, i've tried). the shits a little pricey unfrotunately.
__________________
i'm an asshole, you probably shouldn't listen to me.
2_wheel_nation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 09:02 AM   #13
sideshow
Senior Member
 
sideshow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fort Bragg
Posts: 230
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

were gettin off track! Lookin for more personal experiences and setups...
__________________
www.myspace.com/deadelvisrun
sideshow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 09:09 AM   #14
2_wheel_nation
Senior Member
 
2_wheel_nation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: woosta, MA
Posts: 2,570
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

my apologies, i'll try not to provide such relevant information in the future.
__________________
i'm an asshole, you probably shouldn't listen to me.
2_wheel_nation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 09:12 AM   #15
Bugles
Senior Member
 
Bugles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 1,018
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

I was thinking, 'Isn't this as relevant as you can get?' Filter, availability, plumbing...What else are you looking for, other than +1's?
Bugles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 09:50 AM   #16
thesanchez
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 58
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

here's one that comes with barbs, 5/16, 3/8
http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku
thesanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 10:53 AM   #17
Dr. Benway
Mod Squad
 
Dr. Benway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 6,351
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

Quote:
If you ran with a small inline filter or some other idea post your experiences!
Yeah Josh, stop derailing the thread!
Dr. Benway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 11:07 AM   #18
Trent
Atomic Custom
 
Trent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atomic Compound, NM
Posts: 3,829
Send a message via Yahoo to Trent
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

I run inline screen/magnet "pre filters"... and thats ALL I run.
__________________
Atomic Trent

Atomic Custom
https://atomiccustom.bigcartel.com
http://instagram.com/atomictrent/


"Custom parts are good only when they're cooler than factory parts. By cooler I mean have better lines, work better, etc."
Trent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 11:49 AM   #19
lowbrowcustoms
Senior Member
 
lowbrowcustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brunswick, Ohio
Posts: 1,743
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

MAP Cycle makes a nice universal oil filter kit, check it out here

http://mapcycle.com/itemdesc.asp?ic=MAP6510&eq=&Tp=

Haven't used one yet, I think I will on my next build I am just getting started on, a '61 T100

Cheers
Tyler
lowbrowcustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 12:37 PM   #20
sideshow
Senior Member
 
sideshow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fort Bragg
Posts: 230
Default Re: oil filter - to run or not to run

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Benway View Post
Yeah Josh, stop derailing the thread!
Thank you Doctor. Where would we be without you?
__________________
www.myspace.com/deadelvisrun
sideshow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.