Tighten clutch hub nut? - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-19-2012, 03:40 PM   #1
Rehnen1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Borås Sweden
Posts: 34
Default Tighten clutch hub nut?

First time for me to install a belt drive. Maybe this is a stupid but hopefully easy question to answer. How do I tighten the clutch hub nut?! I can only tighten it little. When I try to tighten it the clutch hub moves and so does the main shaft and nut as well. What am I doing wrong? I'm shore you guys can help me.
Thanks
Rehnen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-19-2012, 04:15 PM   #2
Friday
Senior Member
 
Friday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NZ
Posts: 841
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

manual talks of filling the cylinder with nylon rope so youve got something to push against.
some go for using a rattle gun or you can bang the gearbox into gear and lock the rear wheel sprocket , tie it to the frame or what ever.

that nut is left thread, you have to make sure the key is sitting properly too, no doubt youve got a torque wrench on this job too
Friday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 04:27 PM   #3
Dragstews
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Also Lost in the Sixties
Posts: 7,717
Send a message via Yahoo to Dragstews
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

Nylon rope...??

Sounds like it would work OK...Never done it that way...

Another way would be to use a clutch hub locking plate....
Like the one in the photo....



This one is for the early 74-80 clutch basket...
Could load all the plates and have a helper push in on them while you do the spin of the nut.
Dragstews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 04:43 PM   #4
Rehnen1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Borås Sweden
Posts: 34
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

Ok thanks alot! But when I spin the the clutch hub and main shaft should the wheel spin as well? Mine doesn't. Only when I spin the wheel the clutch hub and main shaft spins a little but not as much as the wheel.
Rehnen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 05:05 PM   #5
Friday
Senior Member
 
Friday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NZ
Posts: 841
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

Nylon rope ....I kid you not = page 82 Haynes shovelhead manual.

Ive never tried it but thats the go they say.
If theres 2 people then theres the rear brake ...Im assumming hes own his own.....and has a TORQUE wrench.
Dont you people on the other side of the world ever sleep? its day time here
Friday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 05:10 PM   #6
harleybart
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ransomville N.Y.
Posts: 6
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

if you have an extra clutch plate, weld a bar onto it and that will hold it place
, or use an impact gun, just make sure you don't spin the lock tab.
harleybart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 05:54 PM   #7
Rehnen1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Borås Sweden
Posts: 34
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Friday View Post
Nylon rope ....I kid you not = page 82 Haynes shovelhead manual.

Ive never tried it but thats the go they say.
If theres 2 people then theres the rear brake ...Im assumming hes own his own.....and has a TORQUE wrench.
Dont you people on the other side of the world ever sleep? its day time here
Haha..Ye I have a torque wrench and actully I think it's time to sleep now. Been a long day. Will try to fix an impact gun tomorrow.

But still should'nt the main shaft and the wheel/tire be synced? When I spin the tire the main shaft should spin and vice verse? Mine does'nt. Because when I press down the rear brake the main shaft is still able to spin.
Rehnen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 06:21 PM   #8
texas rattler
Senior Member
 
texas rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: texas
Posts: 500
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehnen1 View Post
Haha..Ye I have a torque wrench and actully I think it's time to sleep now. Been a long day. Will try to fix an impact gun tomorrow.

But still should'nt the main shaft and the wheel/tire be synced? When I spin the tire the main shaft should spin and vice verse? Mine does'nt. Because when I press down the rear brake the main shaft is still able to spin.
sound like your in neutral, put it in gear and mainshaft will be engaged via trans. the old clutch plate with a bar bolted to it works great to hold the hub or get that tool dragstews showed
texas rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 08:20 PM   #9
Larry T
Senior Member
 
Larry T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Central Texas
Posts: 2,692
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

Quote:
Originally Posted by harleybart View Post
if you have an extra clutch plate, weld a bar onto it and that will hold it place
, or use an impact gun, just make sure you don't spin the lock tab.
I'll agree with the plate but not the impact driver (if we're talking tapered shaft here)
Larry T
__________________
I foresee yet another closely defined historic term being corrupted, aborted and ruined.-Dragon

My old Panhead build: http://www.jockeyjournal.com/forum/s...ead.php?t=9455
Larry T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 02:29 AM   #10
Rehnen1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Borås Sweden
Posts: 34
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

I have put it in to gear. But the main shaft don't sync with the tire. They only sync/spins togather sometimes and then the tire spins but not the main shaft. Is that really right?
Sorry for all the noob question. It's only the first time once.
Rehnen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 04:02 AM   #11
Tattoo
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Way down South in Dixie
Posts: 3,825
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehnen1 View Post
I have put it in to gear. But the main shaft don't sync with the tire. They only sync/spins togather sometimes and then the tire spins but not the main shaft. Is that really right?
Sorry for all the noob question. It's only the first time once.

You don't have to time the drive line. Don't over tighten the nut.
Tattoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 05:06 AM   #12
harleybart
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ransomville N.Y.
Posts: 6
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

you have to have the cluthes in to bind the clutches to hub, the main will spin if it is in gear., but that wont help you, you need to hold the hub in place on the main, so like I said, if you use an impact, thats good. but i like to use the clutch plate with a handle to torque it correctly.
harleybart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 05:41 AM   #13
shovithead
Senior Member
 
shovithead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cocoa Florida
Posts: 1,683
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

If you have a complete transmission, with no damaged/broken gears, then all you need to do, is assemble the clutch, completely, and adjust the clutch. Put in gear, and see if the wheel will spin the clutch. I bet you will see that it does. As far as tightening the clutch nut, I have been using impacts on these hubs for years, never damaged one, but you have to use common sense, and make sure you lock the locking washer.
__________________
Keep the Old Iron on the road.


72 Chevy C30 truck
73 Custom Shovel
70 XLH
69 XLH
69 XLH *project*
68 XLCH *project*
68 XLCH *project*
66 FLH *Daily Rider*
66 Shovel/Pan/Pan*project*
65 XLCH *project*
60 XLCH*project*
51 FL *project*
shovithead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 05:41 AM   #14
Rehnen1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Borås Sweden
Posts: 34
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

Okey now I understand. Thanks for all the replys. Now I have little more knowledge and a lot wiser..haha
Rehnen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 06:54 AM   #15
Larry T
Senior Member
 
Larry T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Central Texas
Posts: 2,692
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shovithead View Post
.............................................As far as tightening the clutch nut, I have been using impacts on these hubs for years, never damaged one, but you have to use common sense, and make sure you lock the locking washer.
That's pretty much the way I thought until about 15/20 years ago. I used an impact on the nut (same as 100 times before) and the shaft collapsed enough that the clutch rod started dragging inside the shaft. Not enough to lock it up, but enough to eat up the tip of the rod and adjuster, make the clutch drag, etc.. Took a while to troubleshoot and even longer to fix. I've always used a torque wrench since then.
Not reall that hard to do, kind like using a torque wrench on anything else.
Larry T
__________________
I foresee yet another closely defined historic term being corrupted, aborted and ruined.-Dragon

My old Panhead build: http://www.jockeyjournal.com/forum/s...ead.php?t=9455
Larry T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 06:56 AM   #16
sixball
Senior Member
 
sixball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 885
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

I used to do the nylon rope trick. Then once I had a hard time pulling it out, and noticed the end of the rope was odd looking. So I had to take the head off and sure enough found a small piece that had got pinched off. Luckily I caught it and had no other damage. ALOT of extra labor though. I use an electric impact on all of mine. I like using the electric for those, that way I can't get carried away with the air.

Sixball
sixball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 07:12 AM   #17
Dragstews
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Also Lost in the Sixties
Posts: 7,717
Send a message via Yahoo to Dragstews
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

Should say a word about the tapers...

Make sure there is no oil on the two mating surfaces....
You want those to be dry as a Popcorn Fart.

Baker Drivetrain has a spine shaft out for the 70-up 4-speed now-a-days..
Takes the shaft into the 1990 and up design of the Evo's.
Dragstews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 04:36 PM   #18
Friday
Senior Member
 
Friday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NZ
Posts: 841
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

funny , his first words = "first time" .
theres no reason to remove hub in the first place unless its to replace fingers or work on the box so sounds like this is a ground up build of parts.

shifter may not be set up ,selector etc... ratchet box or castle top ? ...wheel engages sometimes?
If the wheels off the ground it should be spinning in response to cranking the shaft.

nylon rope , locking plate, chain lock wont work ,theres no connection to the motor , hes got a shaft and a hub in mid air to work with so only options are locking the back wheel ,plate and bar trick with wrench or using impacts carefully.

have to laugh about the rope , got to respect any one who tries it ,cause I aint gonna.

Last edited by Friday; 05-20-2012 at 04:40 PM. Reason: dreaded rope
Friday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 12:24 AM   #19
Ken Cormier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: bangor maine
Posts: 519
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

I have been using rope for better than 30 years never had an issue.
Ken Cormier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:26 AM   #20
Rehnen1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Borås Sweden
Posts: 34
Default Re: Tighten clutch hub nut?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Friday View Post
funny , his first words = "first time" .
theres no reason to remove hub in the first place unless its to replace fingers or work on the box so sounds like this is a ground up build of parts.
Didn't mention that its going to be open. So of course I have to remove the hub to be able to remove the inner cover.

Quote:
shifter may not be set up ,selector etc... ratchet box or castle top ? ...wheel engages sometimes?
If the wheels off the ground it should be spinning in response to cranking the shaft.
The wheel is off the ground and exactly the wheel engages sometimes.....?
Rehnen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.