CV Carb - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2012, 02:09 PM   #1
hd74
Senior Member
 
hd74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Loveland, Co.
Posts: 502
Default CV Carb

I've been looking for CV carb for my pan. Bought one but was lost by USPS, then found one on ebay. The desciption read "Harley Davidson CV carb new", But fine print read OEMSTD Performance.

I guess the question is does anyone here have any experience with this off brand carb and or should I just send it back?
hd74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2012, 02:17 PM   #2
Dragstews
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Also Lost in the Sixties
Posts: 9,365
Send a message via Yahoo to Dragstews
Default Re: CV Carb

Nothing wrong with the CV carb....Just don't get one that don't have a acc.pump...Those came out on the first year for CV carbs on a Sporty...

Will be in need of an adapter...

Trock Cycle used to make a nice one..Could get a choke mount for it also...

Dragstews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:29 PM   #3
shupe
Senior Member
 
shupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Fla
Posts: 182
Default Re: CV Carb

Quote:
Originally Posted by hd74 View Post
I've been looking for CV carb for my pan. Bought one but was lost by USPS, then found one on ebay. The desciption read "Harley Davidson CV carb new", But fine print read OEMSTD Performance.

I guess the question is does anyone here have any experience with this off brand carb and or should I just send it back?
Never heard of knockoff cv carbs.
An h-d khehin will have a bar & shield outline cast in and a Harley-davidson sticker, iirc.
I run one on my Shovel and like it a LOT.
shupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:35 PM   #4
hd74
Senior Member
 
hd74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Loveland, Co.
Posts: 502
Default Re: CV Carb

Here a pix of the dingus, note no overflow spigot. On the other side no bar&shield.
hd74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:43 PM   #5
vtwinmotors
Senior Member
 
vtwinmotors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: colorado
Posts: 1,194
Default Re: CV Carb

Thinking by your location you are in Colorado. There is a swap meet in Denver next weekend you should be able to find what you want there. We have put a lot of CV's on all years of Harley engines. I am not sure what the fine print is all about I have not seen that. The carbs I have here don't have that on them. We have made adapters to mount as we need. I have more trouble finding a good clean air cleaner system that is not as big as a bread box. At a reasonable price. Good luck
vtwinmotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 03:09 PM   #6
vtwinmotors
Senior Member
 
vtwinmotors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: colorado
Posts: 1,194
Default Re: CV Carb

Thinking that you are going to be okay with what you have. Need to check behind the black nut to see if just the enrichener cable is all you need or if there a more parts for the choke/enerichener system. Good luck
vtwinmotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 03:12 PM   #7
tattoo2303
Senior Member
 
tattoo2303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mount Morris NY
Posts: 426
Default Re: CV Carb

that little black nut/boot is just how the enricher attaches to the carb, if you buy a new cable that piece doesn tcome with it. looks like a standard cv to me
__________________
i dont have time to bleed
tattoo2303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 03:28 PM   #8
popelli
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: England
Posts: 272
Default Re: CV Carb

Quote:
Originally Posted by hd74 View Post
I've been looking for CV carb for my pan. Bought one but was lost by USPS, then found one on ebay. The desciption read "Harley Davidson CV carb new", But fine print read OEMSTD Performance.

I guess the question is does anyone here have any experience with this off brand carb and or should I just send it back?

tired a CV on my panhead, it ran ok

then I tried a HS40 mikuni, it ran a whole lot better - sold the CV on fleabay and never regretted switching to the mikuni
popelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 03:29 PM   #9
hd74
Senior Member
 
hd74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Loveland, Co.
Posts: 502
Default Re: CV Carb

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtwinmotors View Post
Thinking that you are going to be okay with what you have. Need to check behind the black nut to see if just the enrichener cable is all you need or if there a more parts for the choke/enerichener system. Good luck
Yes, the spring and valve are there. What about no overflow outlet?
hd74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 03:37 PM   #10
caschnd1
Senior Member
 
caschnd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chandler, Arizona USA
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: CV Carb

They stopped putting the overflow on the bowl in the mid/late 90's.
caschnd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 04:50 PM   #11
hd74
Senior Member
 
hd74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Loveland, Co.
Posts: 502
Default Re: CV Carb

Well the CV on my 01 RG has one? Anyway I'm sending this sucker back.

Thanks for your responses and swap meet here I come.
hd74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 05:09 PM   #12
caschnd1
Senior Member
 
caschnd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chandler, Arizona USA
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: CV Carb

Hmmmm... I thought the EPA had eliminated the overflow a few years earlier the 2001. Is that the original bowl on your RG? I could be wrong on the date. Not really important I guess. I do prefer the bowls with the overflow just so the carb can't overflow into the intake and flood the bottom end with fuel.

-Craig
caschnd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.