Remote mount filter, filter? - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2011, 09:04 PM   #1
HolyHandGrenade
Member
 
HolyHandGrenade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mahwah, NJ
Posts: 80
Default Remote mount filter, filter?

I did a search and can't find anything Evo specific. I read through all the threads I could find on here and elsewhere.

I have an 03' Sporty and want to put a remote filter on it. I have the adapter and mount in my "shopping cart" on Jegs.com.

My question is this. What filter do I want to use on this engine? I read that I could use a PH8a in one thread. Then in another I read that I should use an HP series filter due to it being more high flow. Now, I don't even know if this matters on my bike since it came from the factory WITH a filter.

While reading through the other threads I saw all the opinions on aesthetics. I really don't want to start another debate about how it LOOKS. Just an idea of what I need for a filter.

Thank you!
HolyHandGrenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2011, 11:44 PM   #2
Slag Kustom
Senior Member
 
Slag Kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 343
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

no reason to go away from the stock one it does the job as well as any other one. if you insist on a remote filter almost any will work
__________________
all my money I spent on Booze, broads and bikes the rest of my money I pissed away
Slag Kustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 06:50 AM   #3
dead pirate
Senior Member
 
dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: middle america (indiana)
Posts: 379
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

i would just get one from deville cycles or baas metal craft. the one i got from deville came with a filter.
__________________
My fiance, who ISN'T much for motorcycles (but a VERY tolerant woman) said:"That was beautiful, baby… "So there you have it, even someone who doesn't know a panhead from a mullethead likes it.
dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 08:07 PM   #4
HolyHandGrenade
Member
 
HolyHandGrenade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mahwah, NJ
Posts: 80
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dead pirate View Post
i would just get one from deville cycles or baas metal craft. the one i got from deville came with a filter.
I checked out their stuff. Very nice. I especially liked Teach's stuff. I also followed a link to his school site. I think that's so cool, building Choppers in metal shop!

Anyway, I'd already ordered this stuff when I read your reply:

At the risk of being flamed, is this going to work without being detrimental to my bike? I like the idea of adding the extra oil to the system and using the filter hanging out there in the wind as pseudo oil cooler.

What I'm afraid of is putting too much resistance on the system and ruining my mew 1250 kit the first time that I fire it up...

Everyone keeps telling me to put the filter on the return side. If I screw the adapter on the stock filter stud, I'll already be on the correct side, no?

Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC04822.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	677.3 KB
ID:	66064  
HolyHandGrenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 08:10 PM   #5
hdshovel82
Senior Member
 
hdshovel82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: long island ny
Posts: 673
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

isnt the oil filter on an evo in the front of the motor on the left?that alone i would think would keep it cooler
hdshovel82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 08:18 PM   #6
HolyHandGrenade
Member
 
HolyHandGrenade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mahwah, NJ
Posts: 80
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hdshovel82 View Post
isnt the oil filter on an evo in the front of the motor on the left?that alone i would think would keep it cooler
It is. I also like the looks of this. I want to hang it off the rear fender brace at the same angle as the shock. I understand that this isn't everyones cup of tea. I'm just wondering if this is going to cause me any trouble.

I'm planning to run the lines under the bike. behind the solo bag on the left side and to the filter mounted as described above.
HolyHandGrenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 09:26 PM   #7
jakespade77
Senior Member
 
jakespade77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Valley of the Spun
Posts: 709
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

Sometimes function is better than looks. Especially when you're in the wind. If you're too concerned about heat, run an oil cooler. I had my evo sporty with an oil cooler and a hopped up motor running in phoenix during the summer with no overheating in traffic... just sayin...
__________________
"One cannot achieve ingenuity through imitation."
- Zephros Major (The Shovel Revival)
jakespade77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 09:41 PM   #8
HolyHandGrenade
Member
 
HolyHandGrenade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mahwah, NJ
Posts: 80
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jakespade77 View Post
Sometimes function is better than looks. Especially when you're in the wind. If you're too concerned about heat, run an oil cooler. I had my evo sporty with an oil cooler and a hopped up motor running in phoenix during the summer with no overheating in traffic... just sayin...
So, you don't think this will work well then? I'm more going for the look, as long as it won't HURT. I just want to know if it'll work.

Thank you!
HolyHandGrenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 10:07 PM   #9
HolyHandGrenade
Member
 
HolyHandGrenade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mahwah, NJ
Posts: 80
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

I actually just put this on EBay. I need a new exhaust more than this, and I can't get a straight answer to weather it'll work or not. Probably due to the fact that nobody does it this way...

I'm not willing to chance it on my new motor. I guess the thread will stay going for the others who might want to know the same thing...
HolyHandGrenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 10:58 PM   #10
FeHd
Senior Member
 
FeHd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Motorcity
Posts: 325
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

It will work fine, just put it on the return side. You dont want it on the supply side, if it get restricted, no oil to motor. You can hang it wherever ya want, Indian Larry always had his on the back by where the shock would be.
__________________
Sportster Choppin Bastard CTFS
"dentists and bueracrats and pussyboy software designers gettin up on a Harley cuz they think it makes them cool. Well you aint cool skeeziks, your fuckin chilly. And chilly aint never been cool." GC
FeHd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 08:36 AM   #11
jakespade77
Senior Member
 
jakespade77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Valley of the Spun
Posts: 709
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

Indian larry didn't build sporties with remote oil filters...

Apples and oranges
__________________
"One cannot achieve ingenuity through imitation."
- Zephros Major (The Shovel Revival)
jakespade77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:15 AM   #12
FeHd
Senior Member
 
FeHd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Motorcity
Posts: 325
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

No shit. Show me where I said he did. I said he built most of his bikes with a remote filter hangin on the back where the shock would be. An evo is an evo, BT or sporty, they have pretty much the same oiling system.
__________________
Sportster Choppin Bastard CTFS
"dentists and bueracrats and pussyboy software designers gettin up on a Harley cuz they think it makes them cool. Well you aint cool skeeziks, your fuckin chilly. And chilly aint never been cool." GC
FeHd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 10:52 AM   #13
dead pirate
Senior Member
 
dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: middle america (indiana)
Posts: 379
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

im going with fehd as long as the oil flows from tank to engine to filter back to tank you should be good. im gonna throw one on my 74 this winter funny part is the old bikes didnt have filters right they just had some mesh trap thing. one would think maybe thats why the older ones are a little rougher some times?
__________________
My fiance, who ISN'T much for motorcycles (but a VERY tolerant woman) said:"That was beautiful, baby… "So there you have it, even someone who doesn't know a panhead from a mullethead likes it.
dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 01:44 PM   #14
Bodyworx
Senior Member
 
Bodyworx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 592
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

All i saw was "Orange" and i cringed. Aside from that ..... That's my setup ..... not on an EVO though. After being in the drag racing scene my whole life .... you couldn't GIVE me a Fram anything. Not much help but avoid the "trendy color" filter.
Bodyworx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 01:59 PM   #15
DopeDog
Senior Member
 
DopeDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coconut Grove, FL
Posts: 344
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

FeHd is ABSOLUTELY correct --- it'll work just fine.
I've had a remote filter hanging off the rear of my ironhead for years with ZERO probs.
I've used everything from Dyna filters from H-D to Fram HP1 race filters and it made no difference whatsoever.
I just wanted a big-ass filter, hanging out in the breeze, to add volume to my oil supply & keep it cool.
It's not fucking rocket science.
__________________
If you're gonna be dumb, you'd better be tough.

Viva los Bastardos Originales!
DopeDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:20 PM   #16
HolyHandGrenade
Member
 
HolyHandGrenade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mahwah, NJ
Posts: 80
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DopeDog View Post
FeHd is ABSOLUTELY correct --- it'll work just fine.
I've had a remote filter hanging off the rear of my ironhead for years with ZERO probs.
I've used everything from Dyna filters from H-D to Fram HP1 race filters and it made no difference whatsoever.
I just wanted a big-ass filter, hanging out in the breeze, to add volume to my oil supply & keep it cool.
It's not fucking rocket science.
I thought in theory that it would work just fine too. Due to the fact that I was putting the filter right back where it belongs, as far as which SIDE of the system it would go on. I mean, it's getting adapted right from the stock location. I was just looking for a second or third opinion to ease my worries about doing it.

My worries were with the filter being mounted up so high, and having LONG lines run to it from the front of the engine, that it might tax the pump beyond what it's meant to do. Possibly resulting in less flow, or premature breakdown of the oil pump.
HolyHandGrenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:31 PM   #17
bobscogin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lacombe, LA
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

If it's more for looks than function, why bother to hook it up? You're not going to gain any advantage in function. Mount it, run the hoses up under the frame and just tie them off. No need to hook it up. You won't have any worries over it hurting your motor, no leaks, no risk of a burst hose.

Bob
bobscogin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:39 PM   #18
HolyHandGrenade
Member
 
HolyHandGrenade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mahwah, NJ
Posts: 80
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobscogin View Post
If it's more for looks than function, why bother to hook it up? You're not going to gain any advantage in function. Mount it, run the hoses up under the frame and just tie them off. No need to hook it up. You won't have any worries over it hurting your motor, no leaks, no risk of a burst hose.

Bob
I have to draw the line somewhere! I do, do things because I like the way they "look". But I draw the line at trying to fool someone. In my book that would be just like a four barrel under a fake super charger!

I know what you mean though. I just personally don't like hanging things on that don't function. That's different than putting form OVER function. Know what I mean?

Two examples:

I had a 52 GMC with side pipes. It would've been easier to just hang them off the side rather than making pipes to hook them up. But to me if they're on there, they should work.

I put an Eelco tank on the front of a "gasser" style truck we built. Even though I knew I would never use the tank, I hooked it up so if you WANTED to you could turn a couple of valves and run racing fuel in it.

Probably stupid, but it's one of MY things.
HolyHandGrenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:40 PM   #19
HolyHandGrenade
Member
 
HolyHandGrenade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mahwah, NJ
Posts: 80
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

I'm not going to do it anyway. I was just trying to clarify what my question was.
HolyHandGrenade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 06:22 AM   #20
dead pirate
Senior Member
 
dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: middle america (indiana)
Posts: 379
Default Re: Remote mount filter, filter?

i think you should do it still just cause you can
__________________
My fiance, who ISN'T much for motorcycles (but a VERY tolerant woman) said:"That was beautiful, baby… "So there you have it, even someone who doesn't know a panhead from a mullethead likes it.
dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.