76 ironhead oil pump and cams install - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2011, 12:05 AM   #1
cruzin2dwc
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: East Bay Califas
Posts: 81
Default 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

Need help any info, tips or pics for installing oil
pump timing it and timing the cams. The manuals
arnt helpn. Thanks
cruzin2dwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-30-2011, 02:14 AM   #2
weezil
Senior Member
 
weezil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cabot Arkansas
Posts: 102
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

www.xlforum.net should have the knowledge of which you desire.
__________________
The comfy
98' Heritage Softail
The fast and soon to be gone
05' KTM 450 Supermoto
The in pieces and soon to be chopped, bobbed, or whatever you want to call it
76 XLCH


"This is gonna' be bigger than gold teeth!"
-Billy Lane
weezil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 02:44 AM   #3
Bukowski
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 59
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

Keep a couple things in mind. The cam timing uses the pinion gear timing mark (ignore where the flywheel and oil pump breather is). The oil pump uses the 40' advanced flywheel timing mark (ignore where the cam timing marks are). The info on the XLforum shows using the pinion timing for both.
Bukowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 11:28 AM   #4
cruzin2dwc
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: East Bay Califas
Posts: 81
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bukowski View Post
Keep a couple things in mind. The cam timing uses the pinion gear timing mark (ignore where the flywheel and oil pump breather is). The oil pump uses the 40' advanced flywheel timing mark (ignore where the cam timing marks are). The info on the XLforum shows using the pinion timing for both.
Ok. Cuz when I time the oil pump and set the cams in the cam notch marks don't line up. But if I rotate the motor foward a bit all the cams line up but the motor is no longer at 40' advanced. Is that ok?
cruzin2dwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 05:20 AM   #5
Bukowski
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 59
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

That sounds about right. Here's a couple shots showing the cams timed to the pinion, then the oil pump timed to the 40' flywheel mark.

Cams
http://tinyurl.com/6kr5muc
Pump
http://tinyurl.com/6ad7cnj
Bukowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 12:49 AM   #6
cruzin2dwc
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: East Bay Califas
Posts: 81
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

Thanks for the info. Got it running solid.
cruzin2dwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 08:43 PM   #7
Kaaos82
Senior Member
 
Kaaos82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rochester,NY(A Blackhole To Avoid)
Posts: 462
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

If the pump is timed wrong (a little left of the window on the breather) could this make it so your top end doesn't get oil? My bike starts and runs, but isn't getting oil through the oil lines to the rockers....
Kaaos82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 08:59 PM   #8
Dragstews
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Also Lost in the Sixties
Posts: 7,717
Send a message via Yahoo to Dragstews
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

Could set the oil pump up at XLR specks.
A bit of work is involved and a few parts.
Dragstews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:01 PM   #9
Kaaos82
Senior Member
 
Kaaos82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rochester,NY(A Blackhole To Avoid)
Posts: 462
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

Not interested in that...just oem is fine....I'm not getting any oil whatsoever to my top end. Could that be due to improper timing?
Kaaos82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:09 PM   #10
Dragstews
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Also Lost in the Sixties
Posts: 7,717
Send a message via Yahoo to Dragstews
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

If your not getting any oil to the top end, your also not getting oil to the pinion shaft (Rod bearings, Pistons)...Both are oiled from the same oil port.

Take a hard look at the pump feed gears, check valve and oil paths.
Dragstews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:13 PM   #11
Kaaos82
Senior Member
 
Kaaos82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rochester,NY(A Blackhole To Avoid)
Posts: 462
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

Yea I pulled my cam cover and blew out the feed holes with pressurized air....still didn't get any oil into my system.....guessing it could be some kind of oil pump timing issues....pulling the pump tomorrow to seee what all the caddy wumpus is about in there....
Kaaos82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:29 PM   #12
Dragstews
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Also Lost in the Sixties
Posts: 7,717
Send a message via Yahoo to Dragstews
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaaos82 View Post
Yea I pulled my cam cover and blew out the feed holes with pressurized air....still didn't get any oil into my system.....
guessing it could be some kind of oil pump timing issues.
The timing of the pump only affects breather window timing...got nothing to do with oil being pumped under pressure to vital parts of the motor..

That's the feed gears of the pump that does that job...
Make sure the oil line from the tank is open and oil is making it's way to the pump.
Gravity feed to the pump...Should be able to pull the line from the pump and watch oil run out of the hose...

A word on the rotary breather valve...
It is timed to open on the downward stroke of the pistons, allowing crankcase exhaust air pressure to expel scavenge oil from the crankcase breather oil trap into timing gear case. Breather valve closes on upward stroke of pistons, creating a vacuum in crankcase.

Last edited by Dragstews; 05-30-2013 at 09:44 PM.
Dragstews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:43 PM   #13
Kaaos82
Senior Member
 
Kaaos82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rochester,NY(A Blackhole To Avoid)
Posts: 462
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

Damn. So my feed gears are probably F'd up then.........gah is it possible I just have something configured improperly?

My oil pump feed is the line angled upwards right? 1964 xlch
Kaaos82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:53 PM   #14
Dragstews
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Also Lost in the Sixties
Posts: 7,717
Send a message via Yahoo to Dragstews
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

On the early Sportie's the oil feed, return and vent are all on the top of the crankcase....

This makes for easy hooking up to the wrong holes....

Hoping someone has some photos of these oil lines ....

monte should be able to help ...

Last edited by Dragstews; 05-30-2013 at 10:14 PM.
Dragstews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 10:05 PM   #15
chevelle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 263
Default Re: 76 ironhead oil pump and cams install

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaaos82 View Post
If the pump is timed wrong (a little left of the window on the breather) could this make it so your top end doesn't get oil? My bike starts and runs, but isn't getting oil through the oil lines to the rockers....
How did you realize you had this issue?

I've seen this a few times.
For some reason I find more of these than anyone else.
Or it could be I'm the only one looking for this issue.
Could be your cam cover oil passage is plugged w/ sealant or gasket is covering passage, or your pinion bushing to pinion shaft is excessivly worn.
I have spent aprox. 100 hours on one engine trying to fix this issue w/ no luck.

I often suggest especially on a newly purchased bike to check for this.
If you have some spare rocker lines, chop a strait one in four pieces, then install the four pieces in the rocker fittings w/ the donuts w/ clear tubing to visually see the oil traveling.
You should have oil pressure to top end when cold and when revving engine.

Start another thread and ill link a bunch of info, and a way around this problem.

Last edited by chevelle; 05-30-2013 at 10:12 PM.
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 08:38 AM   #16
Kaaos82
Senior Member
 
Kaaos82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rochester,NY(A Blackhole To Avoid)
Posts: 462
Default

My motor will run for 30-45 seconds, maybe longer then shut off

I noticed the top end was absurdly hot after this.

I just got it rebored, new pistons, and a valve job. Inspected the cams, etc

Already checked the oil feed passages under the cam cover and the gasket/gasket sealer stuff.

Still nothing to my top end, so I'm a but miffed currently. I'm guessing it has to do with my oil pump.

Once I noticed that issue though I pulled to oil feed lines up top near the rockers, started the motor, and nothing came out

Last edited by Dragstews; 05-31-2013 at 11:32 AM.
Kaaos82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 09:27 AM   #17
Kaaos82
Senior Member
 
Kaaos82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rochester,NY(A Blackhole To Avoid)
Posts: 462
Default Ironhead : No Topend oil (1964 XLCH)

So, I start my bike (just had a topend job done, went through the cams, everything)

Sounds good, idles great, starts right up.

Bike runs for maybe 30-45 seconds then shuts off

Cylinders are super hot, as are the rockers, as if the bike was running for a long time.

I tore it down, opened the cam case, blew out the oil holes with pressurized air, checked the gasket to make sure it wasnt plugging any oil feed holes.


Started the bike back up, Pulled my oil lines at the Rockers.....no oil coming out

So Basically Im not getting oil up to my rockers, nor does it seem like im getting any in my motor either (small amount of oil in the cam cover when opening it back up)


Im not sure if I reassembled the Oil pump improperly or what....


By some freak chance could I have primed the Primary with too much oil? And since the breather in the primary already has oil in there it wont feed back into the motor? Im shooting in the dark here.....my bike is totally together, runs fricken amazing, and I just wanna put some miles on her now.....


Thanks guys!
Kaaos82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 09:44 AM   #18
chevelle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 263
Default Re: Ironhead : No Topend oil (1964 XLCH)

Do you have a idiot light and switch off pump?
I'm guessing you don't.
Check for return oil at tank?
These links are for no topend oiling only, in other words pump is working fine otherwise.

You may have s pump issue, this will tell you quick:
Start here, add a 1/8" npt tee or strait barbed fitting off front of pump.
Be very cautious of the large 1" hex fitting on front of pump, if over tightened it will split your pump.
Add a long piece (3') of small dia. (3/16) clear tubing off front of pump and plug other end w/ a bolt and hose clamp.
Run hose up frame rail and zipty to neck.
Now start bike, if oil is filling tube your pump is working.
If above is checking out ok then we can go from there.

Link to no topend oil threads:
http://xlforum.net/vbportal/forums/s...d.php?t=823881

Last edited by chevelle; 05-31-2013 at 09:54 AM.
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 09:49 AM   #19
Kaaos82
Senior Member
 
Kaaos82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rochester,NY(A Blackhole To Avoid)
Posts: 462
Default Re: Ironhead : No Topend oil (1964 XLCH)

Alright. headed out to the barn now to pull my oil pump.....stripped it all down last night, so all I need to do now is loosen my motor mounts/tilt the motor and pull the pump.....gah what a fricken nightmare


Wondering if I over tightened that hex fitting.....grrr
Kaaos82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 10:41 AM   #20
Dragstews
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Also Lost in the Sixties
Posts: 7,717
Send a message via Yahoo to Dragstews
Default Re: Ironhead : No Topend oil (1964 XLCH)

This could be a thought also....

You could do an up-grade to your pump...

Find a good pump from 72 to 76 era ....They have a few things going on that is better then the 57-71 pumps....

These can be bought new in billet....
Dragstews is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.