Sportster chain conversion - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2009, 11:07 PM   #1
EvoAlec
Junior Member
 
EvoAlec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 20
Default Sportster chain conversion

Ordered conversion sprockets from drag specialties. The front sprocket is obviously missing a piece. I can not find anything on their site. ds said these sprockets would be all i need to convert from belt to chain. I looked at ledsledcustoms chain conversion pics and their front sprocket looks exactly the same with the three threaded holes. Can someone who has done this please help me figure out what i need to do to get this working? the weather is getting way to nice to have my bike sittin in the garage. I could make a piece to make it work but that seems a little extreme when this is supposed to be a conversion kit. im new to this site and tried searching for this topic and came up empty handed. sorry if its a repost.
EvoAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2009, 11:19 PM   #2
tobiism
Senior Member
 
tobiism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 652
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

You need to make a spacer to take up the slack.
tobiism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 11:23 PM   #3
EvoAlec
Junior Member
 
EvoAlec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 20
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by tobiism View Post
You need to make a spacer to take up the slack.
Ok? what holds the nut after the spacer is on? On the stock pulley there is a bracket that bolts on after you mount it that keeps the nut from moving once in place. Guess i should have clarified what i am asking. Are you not supposed to run that piece? and what are the three threaded holes for if so?
EvoAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 11:41 PM   #4
tobiism
Senior Member
 
tobiism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 652
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

No you cant run that plate. You can however put an allen head screw into on of the holes to lock the nut in place. Make sure you red loctite the nut and the screw.
tobiism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 11:57 PM   #5
Bruins
Senior Member
 
Bruins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: "The Hat" Alberta, Canada
Posts: 174
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

thats exactly what i did on mine. I made a spacer for in front and for behind so that i could keep my chain aligned perfectly (it was REALLY close ot the tire). Then just run an allen head into one of the threaded holes. My allen was a little too big, so i just ground it down a bit till it fit. easy.
Bruins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 12:09 AM   #6
EvoAlec
Junior Member
 
EvoAlec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 20
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruins View Post
thats exactly what i did on mine. I made a spacer for in front and for behind so that i could keep my chain aligned perfectly (it was REALLY close ot the tire). Then just run an allen head into one of the threaded holes. My allen was a little too big, so i just ground it down a bit till it fit. easy.
can you post pics of how you made the front spacer? i would rather do that, its aligned good how it is and if i space it from the rear i will have to space the rear sprocket to match. i found seal and spacer kits for front sprocket at zippersperformance.com but no price and no rear sprocket spacer. I dont understand why this wasnt in the kit i bought. how can you sell a conversion kit that only gives you half the effin parts?
EvoAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 03:50 AM   #7
YETI CUSTOMS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: new zealand
Posts: 429
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

I thought there where two different size front spacers behind the sprocket you might need the thicker one I had to change this on my fxr when changing to chain,I also got a spacer for the rear wheel with my kit.
YETI CUSTOMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 07:10 AM   #8
shupe
Senior Member
 
shupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Fla
Posts: 189
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

Just a word of warning about using only 1 bolt to lock the sprocket nut. I had a 91 FXD. Factory used 1 bolt to lock the mainshaft sprocket nut. They changed to a 2 bolt setup in 92. I found out why. Eventually the 1 bolt WILL shear off and the sprocket nut will loosen. If you're not lucky, the loose nut will mangle the threads on the shaft.
Get 3 bolts in there if you can.
shupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 07:25 AM   #9
fishnuts
Senior Member
 
fishnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: wiscompton.
Posts: 295
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

or fab up a plate like on the drive pulley set up on all the late model HD.
__________________
The Beatings Will Continue Until Morale Improves.

"They call us walking corpses, unholy living dead..."
fishnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 07:35 AM   #10
crebo
Senior Member
 
crebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SATX
Posts: 1,312
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

"or fab up a plate like on the drive pulley set up on all the late model HD."
__________________

This is the plate off the trans on my evo build...
(just posting the pic, not sure if it helps or not...)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bike2.jpg
Views:	531
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	45100  
__________________
"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened"

Last edited by crebo; 09-30-2009 at 07:38 AM.
crebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 07:36 AM   #11
good_ol_boy
Senior Member
 
good_ol_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mountain Iron, Minnesota
Posts: 154
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvoAlec View Post
can you post pics of how you made the front spacer? i would rather do that, its aligned good how it is and if i space it from the rear i will have to space the rear sprocket to match. i found seal and spacer kits for front sprocket at zippersperformance.com but no price and no rear sprocket spacer. I dont understand why this wasnt in the kit i bought. how can you sell a conversion kit that only gives you half the effin parts?
With the spacer kit from Zippers, you'll need to flip the front sprocket the opposite from what you have it now, and you shouldn't need any spacer for the rear spocket.
good_ol_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 07:56 AM   #12
HatchetWound
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 164
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

Make sure you impact that 1 7/8 nut down too. All I did was make a spacer, but my buddy got one of those dished sprockets and we did not need to make a spacer. I think the retention plate might have fit on with that sprocket too.
__________________
www.haints69.blogspot.com
HatchetWound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 08:10 AM   #13
S TOWN ROLLER
Senior Member
 
S TOWN ROLLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 332
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

I used a sprocket with about 1/4" offset and if I remember correctly (all I have is this pic right now and no bike in front of me) I just slid it on the splines and used the same plate and screws that held the stock drive pulley and the 1 7/8" nut to hold it on. Did not need any kind of spacer on the inside or outside of the sprocket. And, of course, loctited and hit it with an impact wrench...
__________________
www.peanutcitygeeks.com
Blog & Crap
S TOWN ROLLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 08:35 PM   #14
EvoAlec
Junior Member
 
EvoAlec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 20
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

got it fixed, thanks for all the help. I'm impressed with how quick i got replies, thanks again. Heres the fix. made a 1/4 inch spacer and made indentions with the dremel so the bolts would go in. Put all three back in cause it looked like pieces were missing if i didn't. Not happy with the way this setup looks, but it is functional and that is all i care about at this point in time. thanks again for the help.
EvoAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 11:35 AM   #15
BobbErik
Senior Member
 
BobbErik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bay Area CA.
Posts: 108
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

sorta off topic, sorta not. I'm converting from belt to chain on my sporty too and was wondering what's the best gear/teeth ratio setup?
__________________

BobbErik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 09:10 PM   #16
450bobber
Senior Member
 
450bobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 117
Default Re: Sportster chain conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvoAlec View Post
got it fixed, thanks for all the help. I'm impressed with how quick i got replies, thanks again. Heres the fix. made a 1/4 inch spacer and made indentions with the dremel so the bolts would go in. Put all three back in cause it looked like pieces were missing if i didn't. Not happy with the way this setup looks, but it is functional and that is all i care about at this point in time. thanks again for the help.
I think that it looks nice, can't really even tell it is there. good job!
450bobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.