Rocker clutch question regarding - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Old 08-20-2008, 02:28 PM   #1
Scotty

Default Rocker clutch question regarding

I've got a question about the modified rocker clutch assembly on these two bikes:

I'm planning on using the rear floorboard tabs to run my pegs like these two bikes on my next project.

I'll be running a mechanical drum rear and jockey shift so I'll be using the standard front brake pedal, rod, and backing plate on the right. On the left I was just going to use the standard matching foot clutch pedal, rod and backing plate until I saw this.

I've never used a rocker clutch before, just regular foot clutches(suicide) on my prior chopper and on my shovel trike. I don't know how stock rocker clutches work and what their purpose is over a regular foot clutch.

It looks like a modified floorboard rocker clutch set up so here's my questions:

1) How does it work? Better than a standard foot clutch(suicide)?

2) Is the backing plate modified?

3) How is the rocker assembly modified to achieve the one arm lever?

Sorry if it's a stupid question(s). Thanks for any info.

Scotty

Last edited by Scotty; 08-20-2008 at 02:39 PM.
Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2008, 03:07 PM   #2
Kuda

Default Re: Rocker clutch question regarding

>I've never used a rocker clutch before, just regular foot clutches(suicide) on my prior chopper and on my shovel trike. I don't know how stock rocker clutches work and what their purpose is over a regular foot clutch.

The rocker clutch, in most years, had an internal friction washer and spring that allowed you to disengage the clutch and put your foot down while still in gear (originally known as a "safety clutch"). The friction washer kept tension on the clutch pedal to overcome the clutch spring.

>It looks like a modified floorboard rocker clutch set up so here's my questions: