rebuilt BSA engine 1st start questions....setting timing - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > Tech Archives

Old 04-25-2007, 02:52 PM   #1
cyclocrossbikes

Default rebuilt BSA engine 1st start questions....setting timing

OK I have a freshly rebuilt BSA 650 Lightning motor dropped into my bike.... I have the electrical done, and all the plumbing done...

Now WTF do I do?

Seriously, this has been a long and expensive labor of love, and naturally some anxiety is involved. I want to think of everything possible to make this go as smooth as possible. This is my first time and I want to perform! if ya know what I mean. Maybe some of you seasoned sailors can give me some pointers....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-25-2007, 04:13 PM   #2
BSACafe

Default Re: rebuilt BSA engine 1st start questions....

Cyclo....the first thing I'd do is make sure your oil lines are hooked up properly and that it's feeding back to the tank and to the rocker. I'm sure there are a few ways of doing this, but one is kicking, another is putting the bike in fourth gear and spinning the rear tire until you see oil going to the tank.

After that...kicker man!!!

www.caferacer.ca

1968 BSA Lightning Cafe
1968 BSA Thunderbolt
1969 BSA Royal Star Chop
1972 BSA Thunderbolt
BSACafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 04:15 PM   #3
BSACafe

oh yeah...and watch for smoke coming out of wires. Watch for flames. Watch for gas leaking.

Hey...you did put a fuse in the wiring...right?

www.caferacer.ca

1968 BSA Lightning Cafe
1968 BSA Thunderbolt
1969 BSA Royal Star Chop
1972 BSA Thunderbolt
Old 04-25-2007, 04:16 PM   #4
cyclocrossbikes

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSACafe