Zodiac: The Envy of Seattle - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Old 07-05-2015, 06:31 PM   #1
ericthebeard

Default Zodiac: The Envy of Seattle

Greetings,

Intros: I'm new to JJ, but have been lurking, searching, and reading throughout the years. Doing researching and ogling various build killer threads. And here I am starting off my own first project.

Bike story: Found this awesome deal locally on Craigslist. The dude selling it listed a pretty vague ad for a '55 pan and basically said I'm not posting a price or any shit. Just come look at it and make an offer. So I did and I snagged it up. There's a pretty dope story to go with her, I'm the fourth owner. She used to be in full period resto form, but then the owner switched it up. Here's how she sits now (to my current understanding):

Untitled

Deets:
-'55 Pan engine, full S&S internals rebuilt, Super E carb, S&S oil pump
-Matching-numbers '55 trans, Baker internals
-Shovelhead split tanks
-Evo contorls
-Newer (Evo?) front end, dual discs

I love swingarm bikes. No plans to hardtail her. I am probably going to ride her as-is (after addressing some issues from sitting for a while, details forthwith on that work) and lean as much as I can about her habits. But then tear into the style and start to make it my own.

But I will say. I am new for sure and this progress will be slow going. Hopefully people here can assist with bumps and trials along the way.

That's all the shit I can think is valid for now.
ericthebeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-05-2015, 07:03 PM   #2
tomsoftail

Default Re: '55 Panhead Yet-To-Be-Named

I like electronic ignition and disc brakes as they make riding enjoyable to me not exciting. I leave exciting to the younger folk.
You'll be happy with dual front stoppers but not as cool as a guy running rear only.
Please say you paid way too much to make us looking for a Pan feel better.