Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight? - The Jockey Journal Board

Go Back   The Jockey Journal Board > General Discussion > The Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2012, 02:56 PM   #1
Mike.p
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 39
Default Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

As the title states? Please let me know what switch and or headlight. I'm having a prob finding a headlight big enough. Iv been through two. My ignition switch sticks about 1 1/2 inside the bezel. I'm using one that does not require a starter relay and is 3 way, off-on-start. If I can find a thinner switch I'll buy it.
Mike.p is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2012, 03:00 PM   #2
Smokey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: WI
Posts: 2
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

I've run one in a stock headlight on a 70s sportster.
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 03:03 PM   #3
Mike.p
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 39
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

Any pics?
Mike.p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 04:26 PM   #4
hogster
Senior Member
 
hogster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: find the nicest trailer in the park,I live under it
Posts: 915
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

a lot of the bikes in the 60's had the headlight switch ,most of them were not good quality though.sounds like you wanna clean up the wiring on you're ride but I would research other alternatives .locations
__________________
looking for a good re-tox facility
hogster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 04:56 PM   #5
Mike.p
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 39
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

I'm doing a build and I have already ran my wiring to my head light. I ran all my wires through the frame. And have the wiring down to 4 fuses.
Mike.p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 05:22 PM   #6
chopperjunkie73
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: kansas
Posts: 114
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

toggle switch and kick start
chopperjunkie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 07:33 PM   #7
76tri
Senior Member
 
76tri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: A-town, Alberta
Posts: 471
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

Smaller switch and a relay.
76tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 08:16 PM   #8
Mike.p
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 39
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

Any links?
Mike.p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 11:23 AM   #9
Smokey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: WI
Posts: 2
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

I dont have any pics, but it was a pain. I like putting a car style ignition switch on the frame somewhere.
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 12:39 PM   #10
Mike.p
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 39
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

If any was intersted I got it to work! It's a 5.5" lens with a 3 3/4 deep bezel. I converted it from a h4 bulb to h7. There is 4 mini fuses 3 dummy lights, and a headlight switch. The chrome trim piece on the switch is actually a DNA spacer.




Mike.p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 02:01 PM   #11
knallert
Senior Member
 
knallert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Skotterud Norway
Posts: 749
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

Mike.p: I like that setup. slick!



Funny thing. i thought about your bike when i read the topic and when i scrolled down.. there it was

well done!
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Unfortunately, the experience usually comes from bad judgment."

My build thread... Shovelhead -79
knallert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 02:14 PM   #12
Mike.p
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 39
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

Thanks! I figured I would post the pics in here incase anyone did a search in the future if/how it could be done.
Mike.p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 07:56 PM   #13
drainsurgeon
Member
 
drainsurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: So Subs Chicago
Posts: 74
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

That's slick. How about a shot of the whole bike.
drainsurgeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 08:04 PM   #14
Mike.p
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 39
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

Check out my build thread

http://www.jockeyjournal.com/forum/s...ad.php?t=96995
Mike.p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 10:24 AM   #15
Dan Boy
Senior Member
 
Dan Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 1,465
Default Re: Anyone Runing their ignition switch in their headlight?

Nice clean setup you got there and I love the flat black DNA.

D.
__________________

My completed Triumph build:
http://www.jockeyjournal.com/forum/s...ad.php?t=62358

My Website
Dan Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.