: Rust Removal, What Vinegar to Use?

Trumped
05-08-2007, 12:59 AM
So, I thought that I would give the ol' vinegar a try at removing some rust. Is there any particular type of vinegar that works best? There are so many types...white, white wine, apple cider, and God knows what else. Can I put all metals in the vinegar. Will it harm any?

front st cycle
05-08-2007, 01:35 AM
I'm not experienced, but I think white & be careful with Aluminum...

Also I think it has been discussed heavily on the HAMB...search there...

haring
05-08-2007, 11:22 AM
cheap 'ol white vinegar -- it's mild acetic acid

yes, be careful with aluminum

I use vinegar all the time. I have a bucket in my backyard that always has something in it.

Dan
05-08-2007, 12:02 PM
I think apple cider is what you want - the white stuff will flash rust pretty quick after taking the part out (can neutralize the part with a bath in baking soda) but I dont think the apple cider will flash rust ???
I've used regular white and it works pretty good, it will fuck up steel parts too if left too long -

besides, you use the apple cider vinegar to make good bbq sauce...

Chopperdave
05-08-2007, 12:33 PM
what are you takin rust off of???

Richie
05-08-2007, 12:47 PM
Every time I hear about this I can't help but think working in a antique store for this bitter old jazz drummer who looked like Ernest Borgnine & would just sit in a wing backed chair eating nutty buddy's all day and fucking with customers.

Thsi old woman came in with a vase she bought that had a water stain on it & she says to the guy, "Don? Did you tell me to use vinegar on this water stain?"
"Yeah, " he grunts...all while eating his nutty buddy, "vinegar, a radish, maybe some chives....a little olive oil...'
She gets this confused look on her face and says, "OH! I didn't remember all those ingredients!"
"Yeah, mix it up just like Paul Newman."
He tells her.
At that point I couldn't hold it in anymore & had to go out back to die.